Where the hell have I been?! in A New Beginning

  • Sept. 20, 2017, 8:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

‘Tis a question TO be asked! I don’t even remember when I last wrote, or what I wrote about, and I can’t be arsed to go back and look. I only have time to write! Not to read what I wrote before!
I HAVE BEEN BUSIER THAN A ONE-ARMED PAPER-HANGER! or a one-legged man in an ass-kicking contest! And guess what other great thing?? It has been HOT AS HELL here, so I’ve been busy as fuck and hot as fuck! Hell, I don’t know if winter EVER is going to come. I don’t know if summer is ever going to end!
Last weekend Joe and I took the NAL Store to TWO Pagan Pride festivals. Saturday we went to Frederick, MD, which was close to a three-hour drive for us. And Sunday, mercifully, we took it to our own “hometown) PPD, Delmarva Pagan Pride Day on Legislative Mall in Dover. We made a LOT of money. It’s not our money though! ;o) But I guess ya could say it is, because it finances our doing something we have a barrel of fun doing. :o) And we do get to keep some of it, to buy things to restock The Store with. They know that is what we’ll use it for. There’s nothing we’d rather use it for!!
I think I have written about work, and Jane, our new manager who is....let’s just be honest here....a pain in everyone’s ass so far. But hey, TODAY she had no criticisms to offer to me, so I was all amiles even though it was a crappy day workwise and I was sweating and working my ass off! It was others who took The Daily Criticism! And oh, they were not pleased! ;o) But who the hell IS, right?? It’s not like Jane is an old manager having to deal with a bunch of new, inept workers! Jane is a NEW manager, lucky to have a staff of workers, nearly all of whom have years of experience! AND WE ARE NOT SO DAMN BAD THAT SHE NEEDS TO BE DOLING OUT CRITICISM EVERY FUCKIN’ DAY! Seriously! Sure, she has made a lot of changes that are good. And she doesn’t criticize in what I’d call a bitchy way. But still, nobody wants to have half of what they do found fault with.
Anyhow, I think we have all decided that we are going to do OUR jobs, and stuff that’s fucked up that WE didn’t fuck up, we’re just going to shake our heads about and move on. Our catch-phrase has become “Not my circus, not my monkeys.” And our password is “Clusterfuck.”

This afternoon, end of the day, I came out of the dishroom (which is mine and Brad’s prison for this two weeks) and approached Jane, merely to ask whether or not the bread rack needed to be set out on the loading dock today, and it appeared that Jane and Sandy (my workplace friend) were having “words.” They weren’t shouting (I prefer to shout when I have words, just so people don’t have to wonder how I really feel), but the situation did have a decidedly tense feel to it.
Apparently Jane had chosen a bad time (when Sandy was bustin’ her ass trying to get done for the day) to go to her and say, “You didn’t come in the door until 9:29 this morning. I need you to be here at 9:25, with your apron on and ready to start work.” Mind you, Sandy’s HOURS are actually 9:30 to 1:30.
Sandy countered with, “You would bring up something like that even after I have to stay here ten minutes LATE almost every day just to get done?????”
Jane told her that she (Sandy) was disrespecting her (Jane). HA!
Personally, I think a manager also has to show good workers respect.
That being said, if she had said that to me, I would almost assuredly have said, “I’m sorry about that. I had trouble finding a place to park today because the delivery truck was in the way. I know I’m supposed to be here at 9:25.”
BUT IT WAS NITPICKY.
In fact, Sandy told her, “You’re just being nitpicky at me!”
And she told me Jane said, “I’m being nitpicky to everyone!!”
Well....if that’s her goal in life, she’s doing it pretty well! ;o)
But as for me, I was happier than a pig in poop, to have NO Daily Criticism. :oD


thesunnyabyss September 20, 2017

Yay for no daily criticism, it does make a difference I'm sure,

I saw all your photos, looks like a great weekend, although busy,

have a great day!!!

Ragdolls September 21, 2017

A manager that does daily criticisms will soon have less workers to criticize. Better to build up with positive enforcement than negative comments.

Here I am again! Ragdolls ⋅ September 21, 2017

Yea, really! Today I overheard a couple of my co-workers saying that almost EVERYONE is starting to look for other jobs!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.