House Stuff Continued in Transition

  • Sept. 20, 2017, 3:25 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s been ages since I wrote in here. I’ve been soooo busy and had no time! Well, I went on holiday with Dave and did nothing for a week, which I very definitely needed, but I’ll write about that in another entry.

There have been big movements on the house front. As soon as I got back from holiday, the solicitor contacted me to say that the buyer wants us to sign our part of the contract ASAP. I have no idea why, they haven’t signed theirs yet. So me and Annette went in and signed the contract and the Land Registry transfer document to transfer the ownership over to the buyer. Now there is officially no turning back, that’s the last thing I have to do before completion. It was a very emotional moment. Mixed feelings. Mainly sad because it officially marks the end of the life that me and Jay spent so many years building together. But partly relief, because it also marks the end of all the bullshit that his death left behind. Completion will be within the next couple of weeks. The start of the next chapter of my life is on the horizon…

On Saturday 16th September, I picked up the keys to my new flat and went straight over there with a carload of stuff. I’ve now taken over three carloads so far and am taking another one tonight. I’m officially moving this Saturday the 23rd. Mam and dad are coming down for the weekend to help, Dave is also helping and I’ve hired a large van to take all my furniture.

I’ve finally got rid of the computer desk that me and Jay built together. I’ve had it on Freecycle three times and had five people say they want it and then not turning up, so it was a huge relief when someone finally arrived to take it. I don’t know why it’s so difficult to give something away! My ex-workmate is having the sofabed, but we have to deliver it to him in the van at the weekend because he can’t transport it himself. So they’ve gone, the canvas wardrobe has gone, the main wardrobe is going because it’s falling apart and won’t take another house move. Jay’s big TV and stand have gone, as have mine. I’ve filled a large box with electrical items to go to the tip and another big pile of stuff for the charity shop (I just know my dad is going to start looking through it and ask me why I’m not keeping it or selling it. I’m going to tell him to feel free to take anything he wants to keep or sell for himself.) So with all that, plus the 18 carrier bags and eight bin bags that have already gone to charity, I might be able to fit the rest of it into my new flat; I’m going to have five rooms instead of eight so there’s a huge downsize going on.

So, my new flat. I’ve only taken a few photos so far.

First box unpacked. I think I might have a problem with Too Many Toiletries…

Living room, and my first chair in the flat! ;o)

Why are there so many keys??? I’ve figured out what five of them are for, no idea what the other five are for. There’s no back door, there’s no lock on the shed, no locks on the windows, no attic, no basement. It’s a complete mystery.

Got my fridge magnets all set up. Left is Europe, right is UK, middle is Florida, bottom is “Misc” non-travel related. Of course I’ve got them organised properly, organising stuff is my job ;o)

I think, once everything has finally been done and dusted; house sold, flat unpacked, probate sorted…I might just collapse for a week. I’ve been constantly busy for a whole year. A YEAR! It’s bloody exhausting.


Last updated September 26, 2017


Complicated Disaster September 20, 2017

Whooooooooop! Nearly done! Xx

Babe In Toyland September 20, 2017

Urgh, if dad does start ratching through your stuff, tell him you're emotionally exhausted and just want rid. Sometimes that catharsis helps you move forward easier.
Sorry I can't come and help.

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ September 20, 2017

Yep, we both know exactly what he's like, I might have to get Mam to have a word as he won't let up sometimes! He tried it when I gave him a few things a few months ago, like a multi tool and a brand new pack of socks that Jay never opened. He was asking me why I didn't put them on eBay. Like having a whole house to sort through isn't enough work without worrying about a couple of quid for some socks!

You're right, it has been cathartic getting rid of so much stuff, I feel almost cleaner and freer.

Don't worry, I know you have to work weekends. You can see my new flat when you come down for Royal Blood :-D

Deleted user September 20, 2017

Lucretia September 21, 2017

You can see the finish line! Wahoooooo!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.