Thank You Hurricanes for the Beach Day! (Pics) in General Mental Anesthesia

Revised: 09/22/2017 4:09 p.m.

  • Sept. 19, 2017, 4:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hurricanes aren’t all bad, especially when you prepare ahead of time. Lives can be spared and property damage significantly reduced just by being smart and being ready, but not to dwell on those things, here are a few more enjoyable aspects to the wild tropical weather.

I just got out of the hospital (again). Had to go to the emergency room overnight the other day because I happened to get sick on top of an already serious health situation. I couldn’t breathe, bad infection with coughing spasms so bad that I was coughing up blood. They had me on a respirator (which helped) and now I have some antibiotics etc…

I bring that up because (as my regulars know) I’ve gone through a lot lately. I live in South Florida, but have been stuck in North Carolina the past year due to my poor health. For the most part, I haven’t been able to even get out of bed. On the rare occasions that I can, I’ll go to the driveway and maybe take a picture of a storm approaching or the sky. I’d prefer to travel and storm chase or go hiking and photograph nature, but in my condition that has been impossible.

So, I get out of the hospital, pick up my prescriptions and I feel slightly better out in the fresh air and when I’m standing (able to breathe a little better). Now over the past year, I’ve lost my home, my car etc… so I had to take my sister’s car to drive myself to the hospital overnight the other day. I texted her and she had no plans for the car, so I decided that since I’m close to the beach and Hurricane Jose was nearby, that going there would be relaxing (I definitely needed the mental break) and there should be some decent wave action.

So, I went.

I’ve been an East coaster my whole life, so I haven’t seen waves bigger than 6 or 7 feet, except once in Florida when I was on the beach during a hurricane. (Which btw… I do not recommend because getting hit with sand at 90mph does not tickle!) I saw some 10 - 11 foot waves! This one above before it crested was about 10 feet; it was very cool, and the surfers were out in abundance.

Aside from (the calm before the storm) - Hurricane Jose caused no weather related issues as you can see (aside from some beach erosion I’m sure). This was as close as that storm was going to get to me - a few hundred miles offshore.

The day before a hurricane is set to make landfall is a beautiful one, a calm one and a fun one if you go to the beach. You need to be extremely careful about the rip currents and NEVER underestimate the power of water! Standing just knee high in those kind of waves can easily knock you down. But just going to the beach to watch the waves, the surfers and so on… it’s a nice relaxing time before the weather turns.

There are some positives after the storm too.

Generally, if you live on or near the coast, you’re affected by light pollution from the town / nearby cities. Sure, it’s complaint-worthy to lose power… cold showers aren’t fun, food spoils (but if you prepared, maybe you got some dry ice to put in your freezer which would keep that food fresh several days longer than bags of ice would (and with no watery melted mess to contend with). Many supermarkets sell dry ice and if you got yourself extra charcoal/propane… BBQ’s are always fun!

Another distinct advantage to an entire area losing power… go outside and look up at night! In South Florida if you do that, on a clear night you can see 10 stars (if you’re lucky) usually just 4 or 5. I grew up in Massachusetts, I always miss seeing thousands of stars at night. After Hurricane Wilma in 2005, I was 17 days without power, most everyone went a week or longer without electricity. I don’t think I’ve ever seen more stars in the sky then at that time, it was unbelievable.

Hurricane Maria is churning out there now; she’s too far away to know where she’s going, too many outside factors, but the potential exists for her to come to my area. I’m too sick to chase which depresses the hell out of me, but if she does hit or comes close enough, maybe at least I can go to the beach the day before and see an amazing sky the nights after.

Mother nature is going to happen, embrace it because fear leads to stress which leads to panic and anger and hate, it’s not worth it. Don’t fuel the sensationalism, use common sense. You can only control what you can control and as long as you do that calmly (and do it early) you and your loved ones will be just fine.


Just want to send out a “thank you” to all of those who have shared / donated and asked others to share the GoFundme campaign to help me with my health.

I didn’t set up the page, it was done behind my back out of love and care by a friend who lost her mom to ulcerative colitis. I, personally don’t like asking for help, I’d rather help others, but I owe it to her to mention it when I post because she did put forth a lot of effort and if my getting well means that much to her it’s the least that I can do.

Basically (for those who don’t know) - I need to see my homeopathist; it’s as plain and as simple as that. Every Dr. has failed me, every medication has failed. She will also get me off of all these dangerous medications that Dr’s insist I take and thanks to my friend Terri, and your shares / donations; I hopefully will be able to. Currently I’m halfway to being able to make my 1st appointment with her.

If you would share this page / my story on your social media accounts (Facebook / Instagram / Blog / Twitter…) and ask others to share it as well, It would mean a lot. The further the reach the better the odds of attaining the goal of seeing Dr. Bonnie Mackey. The woman who saved my life many years ago when I was in a similar situation. You can read about it and her on my previous post.

https://www.gofundme.com/jayeeryk

Feel free to rip one of my pics from PB if you need to. If you want to ask me any questions, please do so here. Unfortunately (as you know) I’m currently sick (bronchitis / throat feels like razor blades) so I can’t talk on the phone, but I’ll respond to any messages promptly.


Last updated September 22, 2017


Cat Mommy September 19, 2017

Gorgeous photos! The last one is my fave. :)

Shattered September 19, 2017

Great photos!

the girl with a pipe September 22, 2017

Those photos are amazing!! And yes, the sky is amazing when there is no light pollution! When we moved to the country, the young one looked up into the sky and asked what he was looking at. He was seeing stars for the first time and it was heartwarming and sad that he had to wait so long to see them.

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes the girl with a pipe ⋅ September 23, 2017

Thank you, I'm glad you appreciate them.

I grew up 20 mins South of Boston, despite light pollution, there were plenty of stars to be seen. It's hard to image growing up not experiencing that when for me it was a part of everyday life.

With my current health crisis it's difficult to leave bed, let alone go anywhere, but with hurricane maria churning off the coast, there could be swells as high as 20 feet! As a storm chaser I would love to see that. Hopefully I'll be able to and if so, I'll take more pics.

the girl with a pipe Exhumed By Scrying Eyes ⋅ September 24, 2017

I'm sorry to hear that you're suffering so much. Your will to live as fully as you can is admirable though!

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes the girl with a pipe ⋅ September 27, 2017

It's weird... I don't really have a will to live, but I have so much that I want to see and need to accomplish. Honestly, I just want the pain and suffering to end, I don't care how. And as much as I talk about (bowing out) ... internally, I just don't have quit in me. I could go back n forth on the subject for days throwing out reasons to do this or that and overcoming my own objections.

There are plans in place for me to help a great deal of people on this planet and the planet itself. I have a need to be alive (not for me) but for others.

the girl with a pipe Exhumed By Scrying Eyes ⋅ September 27, 2017

Have you ever heard of the term "wounded healer"? Clarrisa Pinkola Estes describes this type of person beautifully in her Dangerous Woman series... that is both of us I think.

Shoingyboingy September 24, 2017

SURF'S UP DOOOOD!

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Shoingyboingy ⋅ September 27, 2017

The beach is enjoyable any time, but tall waves, crashing surf and watching these guys certainly adds to it!

Marg September 25, 2017

Wow those waves - incredible! That sucks that you ended up back in hospital though (how the hell did you end up driving yourself?? Was there no-one around to take you?) but I'm so glad you managed to get down to the beach! I'm really looking forward to the day I get to go to our beach which is about 20 minutes away - I find it so soothing to be there😊

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Marg ⋅ September 27, 2017

I suffer through a lot. I've had to my whole life as I was largely on my own. No one could take me, I was fortunate to even get access to the car to take myself.

The beach is always enjoyable. I hate living so close and not being able to go more often, if for nothing else then a little mental clarity. I hope you get to go soon! :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.