Butterflies in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Sept. 18, 2017, 11:08 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Beauty is truth, truth beauty…
John Keats

Happiness is a butterfly, which when pursued, is always just beyond your grasp, but which, if you will sit down quietly, may alight upon you.
Nathanial Hawthorne

Butterflies – they are the most amazing and glorious creatures. I don’t know why, but there have been so many butterflies this late summer at the gardens and parks I visit quite often here in Charleston. I can’t ever recall being so fascinated by them or seeing so many. Primarily they have been Gulf Fritillaries and Black Swallowtails, flitting about sipping nectar from zinnias and other flowers they seem to love. The gardeners know what they are doing. Just imagine, from a lowly caterpillar these magnificent butterflies emerge from the four stages of their metamorphosis. One of Nature’s most resplendent wonders. Today, when I suddenly saw a Black Swallowtail at the end of my walk as I was about to leave, I could only muster one feeble exclamation, “Wow!” Startled by such beauty.

Thinking of butterflies, I discovered a remarkable book I bought about four years ago titled “Butterfly People.” It’s about naturalists and scientists who find and collected butterflies in the 19th century and their beautiful illustrations. The book sat at the bottom of a pile of other books I have been intending to read next to my bed, surrounded by dust. Needless to say I have it cleaned up and it’s ready to peruse. Amazing to discover this now.

With all that weighs me down in life now, including the state of our country and the world, I needed to be reacquainted with butterflies this year. Delicate and beautiful beyond words to describe as they float among the flowers, hovering and elusive for the photographer who wants them to be still for the perfect portrait. When I see them, my troubles seem to fade and I enter their world for a brief time.

In my last entry I posted some photos of butterflies taken in the past month or so. Here I am including a few of them again but others as well.

DSC_2547

DSC_2443

DSC_2433

DSC_2526

DSC_2594

DSC_2329
DSC_2328

DSC_2327

DSC_2338

DSC_2249

DSC_2199

DSC_2575

DSC_2579

DSC_2467

DSC_2405


Last updated September 18, 2017


Sabrina-Belle September 18, 2017

Sometimes things turn up just when you need them. I love butterflies, beautiful photos.

northern lights September 18, 2017

Great pictures!

Deleted user September 18, 2017

I love butterflies, Atlas moths, and Luna moths. Unfortunately we have mostly just had cabbage whites this year even though my yard is full of butterfly plants. I believe it's the GMO crops planted everywhere areound me. Those crops are laced with insecticides that kill many good insects as well as bad. Butterflies, particularly Monarchs are becoming extinct here. I miss them. Twenty years ago this time of year I would go in my yard and they would be everywhere, now I am excited if I just see one . Pretty soon the only ones we will see around here are going to be the exotic ones in Butterfly Houses:-(

Newzlady September 18, 2017

Very nice. I love the Hawthorne quote. :)

Deleted user September 18, 2017

Your photography is beautiful.

Wranglingal September 19, 2017

wow just beautiful pictures. Thanks for sharing with us!!

Eriu September 19, 2017

Beautiful pictures! You'd love a place in St. Louis called The Butterfly House. It's kept warm for the butterflies that come from all over the world. They fly freely; my friend took me there where one rode my skirt the whole time we were there.

Oswego Eriu ⋅ September 20, 2017

You're right.. I would LOVE to go there!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.