Ahhh! There's just not enough time! in Ponderings of the Universe

  • Sept. 14, 2017, 10:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am too busy! And I suck at writing and noting here. Boo.

The fair was wonderful. I ate ALL THE THINGS! Well, nearly all the things. I keep telling myself I’ll work on getting the photos is sharing condition and make fair entries but…who knows.

Aaron started grad school, so I’ve been head chef around here since. This comes after years of not cooking anything. Hasn’t ended in disaster yet! I got a groupon for a discounted meal planning service called emeals and have made a few of their recipes. So far, pretty good. Some are bit more time consuming than I’d like, but I do think some of that is just me being a relatively disorganized cook. I’m making a corn pablano pepper soup right now. It was quite time consuming, but I knew that going into it and so planned making it on my day off this week. It’s simmering on the stove, waiting for me to add some more stuff eventually. I think they lied about how little time it will take to cook the potatoes in it. LIES! Making cornbread muffins to go with it.

So far, grad school seems to be going well for Aaron. It’s very different from my grad school experience, but vet school was godawful. He has days off in the middle of the week! So weird! The purpose is to give students the opportunity to join research projects or get jobs within the public health sphere, but it stills seems so odd to me! I think some of the first day jitters are quieting as he’s getting into the routine of things.

A few days before my time off from work, I had my first anesthetic death. It was awful. It was a fairly routine procedure and the patient was stable throughout the whole thing. While she was recovering, my technician was watching her very closely, listened for a heart beat and it was there. Kept monitoring, listened again, and there was none, about 30 seconds to a minute later. She yelled for me to get over there, I listened and confirmed. I screamed for the other doctor to help and we ran a code. While they were administering CPR and pushing drugs, I called the owner. It was one of the absolute conversations I have been involved in. We weren’t able to revive her. Owner and I were in shock, both crying on the phone. I’ve been running through the day over and over again and I can’t come up with anything that would have resulted in her death. I don’t think I did anything grossly wrong and I don’t think my technicians did either. Sometimes seemingly healthy patients don’t make it through anesthesia for reasons we often don’t find. It happens to everyone. My coworkers have been really supportive and were telling me about their experiences. Myself and the technician involved had to hide in the treatment area for at least an hour after it happened because we kept bursting into tears. It somehow makes it worse that I really like the owner and was very fond of the patient. I haven’t quite recovered yet.

My staycation was nice but I didn’t really have any down time and got all peopled out. Had relatives from out of town visiting so spend a lot of time with them doing various things and going to the fair (8 times!). I didn’t have a single day where I just did nothing all day. My days off work since haven’t really been particularly relaxing either. My introvert self is longing for some days of hiding from the world and doing nothing useful or adulty at all.

One of my dog’s is named Harvey and he’s a very active little guy. We’ve been enjoying calling him Hurricane Harvey and asking him why he was so mean to Texas :P

I’m sure I’ve got more but I gotta go finish making soup!


Emily September 15, 2017

I'm so sorry to hear about that death. How sad and unfair :(

I'm an Okking Fool Emily ⋅ September 28, 2017

Thank you

Jigger September 15, 2017

Sometimes we just lose them. It's the literal worst.

Harvey was so awful. Watching my friends' pictures as they dig out is heartbreaking.

I'm an Okking Fool Jigger ⋅ September 28, 2017

It is the literal worst!

Ugh, I know. The footage of all the devastation caused by nature recently breaks my heart.

TellTaleHeart September 15, 2017

Oy, it's hard even reading about the death of your patient... I can't imagine being the one to live through it. It really touches me that you cried with the owner on the phone... I'm sure he/she will look back on that and fondly remember your compassion. ::hugs::

I'm an Okking Fool TellTaleHeart ⋅ September 28, 2017

::hugs back:: Thank you

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.