Updating the Update in Day by Day

  • Sept. 12, 2017, 6:39 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Power is on. Cable is out but eldest brought me his firestick and once I learn that (can’t find the guide again and all the people who know are asleep), I can watch something besides ABC. What a joy it was to watch the news again! I’m avoiding the politics and just following the weather.

My sister-in-law and nephew are staying until the power is back on at their place in Naples, so hurricane chaos is still around but settling down. They saw Category 4 winds. The damage is far more extensive there. They’d been going without a/c for 2 days, so my invitation was quickly taken. We’re all having wonderful talks. This is the ex-wife and son of the brother who intensely disliked me and we are all thrilled to be able to connect without his controlling ways. It’s a liberation and love fest and new friendship all rolled into one.

Gypsywynd, tell your Mom I had the a/c at 75 today and SIL & nephew were ecstatic! LOL!

Tomorrow the guys will go down to the third rental and take care of that yard. I’m going to the grocery store now that I know I’ll have four to feed.
Remind me to tell you about:
Unprepared People
Church
What it Was Like
What Worked, What Didn’t
The Aftermath
The Neighbor
The Phone Call From a Stranger
The Cleanup and the Other Neighbor
The Perspective Gained
I probably have more but can’t think of it now. Soon, I promise. It’s harder with house guests around. I’m reading your notes and sending love right back!

Someone asked about mote. I don’t know. I’ve not had time to check in. Last time I heard anything was a note from 2 days ago saying, “Stay safe! Still have power in Citrus at 8:25 p.m. (heard >830 in Citrus are w/o power; that was a couple of hours ago). Storm should weaken considerably from yours by the time it gets here, but still pretty strong.”

The storm weakened as it moved north but there are widespread outages and power can come and go…with no warning, which is sort of a shock to the system. More on that later. Thanks for your wonderful notes. I want to answer them all but it’ll wait.


GypsyWynd September 12, 2017

75 is too cold even for me!

ConnieK GypsyWynd ⋅ September 16, 2017

I told the guys to put a sweater on. They thanked me in the end. The power went out at 3:20 PM but it didn't start to get warm until midnight. It bought us a few extra hours of comfort.

Shattered September 13, 2017

Great news! Glad you are reconnecting with family.

ConnieK Shattered ⋅ September 16, 2017

Thanks!

Eriu September 13, 2017

Your SIL and nephew are unexpected benefits in a trying time! So glad you're okay! (((hugs)))

ConnieK Eriu ⋅ September 16, 2017

HUGSRIGHTBACKATCHA Thanks. I'm glad, too. Things are still going well with SIL and nephew. Lots of long conversations. There is much to teach him.

Wranglingal September 13, 2017

Still stay safe and will continue the prayers.

ConnieK Wranglingal ⋅ September 16, 2017

Thanks, pal! They worked!

QueenSuzu September 13, 2017

Don't worry about replying to notes, you have your hands full. Silver lining to Irma was the reacquainting with your ex-SIL and nephew. How is your other SIL doing, was she in irma's path?

ConnieK QueenSuzu ⋅ September 16, 2017

Other SIL is in Tampa and her damage was minimal. A big tree fell in the narrow area between her house and the neighbor's. The tree fell parallel to both homes!

Reading_Blankie 📚 September 14, 2017

glad you're safe!!

ConnieK Reading_Blankie 📚 ⋅ September 16, 2017

Thanks! I am, too! :)

a mote, floating September 14, 2017

Very glad you're safe! Power just came back today (9/14) -- no smartphones here, so we were offline for the duration of our outage (3-1/2 days). Power company promised low and delivered high; they told us to expect power back by Sunday night and here it is, four days early! No damage here, minor damage seen during my hour-long walk around the neighborhood on 9/11 (someone's gutter was down, another's downspout was disengaged, and a power pole a couple of blocks from us was tilting precipitously). Thanks to everyone for their concern and good wishes! <3

ConnieK a mote, floating ⋅ September 16, 2017

Glad you checked in. Thanks! We got lucky here.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.