Well, I think I really did it this time in Just in Case

  • Sept. 3, 2017, 6:34 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was mowing the yard (after weeks of rain, we have several days of sun!) I was mowing in an area that I have many times before. There’s the remnants of a landscape timber across the yard. It’s worn and almost even with the ground. That almost is the problem. I always mow there with the deck all the way up. The problem is, I forgot to raise the deck. I went over it fine, but when I backed up, the mower died. It wouldn’t start at first, but the motor was hot. So I let it cool. I crossed my fingers, went out about 30 minutes later and tried again. It started, but I couldn’t back up. So I put in the lowest possible gear and eased it around. Instantly this awful screeching noise started and smoke began to billow out. I killed it right away and lifted the hood. Of course I had no idea what I was looking at. I put it in neutral and pushed it some. I live on the side of a hill. The carport where the mower belongs is up the hill. I couldn’t get it far, but I let it sit. Then I began the internet research. It’s almost as bad as looking up medical info. It could range from bent blades (I don’t see any major damage, but I really don’t know what I’m looking at) to a bent fly wheel key both of which can be fixed. Or worse case scenario - a bent drive shaft. From everything I read, that last means it’s over for my sturdy little mower. Most seem to point to the flywheel key thing, though. So that’s what I’m going with first. I did finally get it pushed all the way to the carport. Just in case the rain comes when it’s not supposed to. This is Louisiana, after all. I had finished most of the mowing - just not the back yard. That makes 2 rounds of mowing that I didn’t get it. It’s scraggly, but not jungle like, at least.
I haven’t mentioned it to my dad, because he’ll come over, and I have things I need to get done tomorrow. I went up and did a lot in my classroom Saturday, but I had to go shopping first, and that led to me getting there later than planned. I’ve been wanting to make some changes with seating, and that took some time. Teachers from another school in our parish (county) are coming to observe in my room. Then they’re meeting with me so I can help them with planning for our new science curriculum. (Not sure why they’re coming to me, but another school is sending a couple of teachers in another week or so.) I feel honored, but I’m struggling as much as anyone else. I’ll do what I can to help, though. Anyway, I’ve got to run up there tomorrow for an hour or so to finish up some things I didn’t get done. Sort of like cleaning up for company. :D


Jigger September 03, 2017

Well, heckity.

Small Town Girl September 04, 2017

Darn!! That's no good!

Deleted user September 06, 2017

I hate when things break ! Sorry !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.