20 years since Princess Diana died in The View from the Terrace

  • Aug. 31, 2017, 4:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today is the 20th anniversary of the death of Princess Diana. Over the past month there have been numerous documentaries on TV and at first I felt they were overdoing it but I found myself watching all of them and many were quite interesting. It has brought back memories of what we were doing at that time.

We spent the last week of August 1997 at my mother-in-law’s. We spent the Saturday visiting Bradgate Park, a large deer park in Leicestershire and a favourite place of mine. The first time we visited there a few years earlier, I had a strange experience. We had walked through the park with the children and stopped to rest in a grove of oak trees. The trees had been pollarded so the branches were low and the children each climbed a tree while we lay back and relaxed in the sunshine. I remember hearing them laughing and then I felt as though I could hear other children laughing too. I sat up and looked around but only our family were there yet I was sure I had heard the voices of more children than my three.

After the visit I read about the history of Bradgate Park. I hadn’t known that the manor house there was the childhood home of Lady Jane Grey, the 9 day queen who was executed at the age of 17. I read that when she had her head chopped off the family chopped off the tops of oak trees in the park. They must have been the trees we had been sitting among. I got to wondering if those were special trees to Lady Jane, maybe she had played there as a child and climbed them, they were very close to the house. I wondered if the laughter I had heard could have been that of her and her sisters ringing down the ages. I do believe that places can retain an atmosphere, who knows. Since then I have researched Hubby’s family history and found that some of his ancestors came from Newton Linford, the little village next to Bradgate Park. Maybe some of them even worked at the house. There could even be a genetic link, on the wrong side of the blanket of course!

Well that is where we spent that Saturday in August 1997. Later that evening we drove home. Hubby worked at a local golf hotel as night porter at that time and I worked some nights with a taxi firm taking bookings. We were both due to go to work that night. Looking back I can’t believe we spent the day walking around the park, then drove 120 miles home and then went to work on night shifts. Where has all of that energy gone?

I was working at the taxi office when the news of Diana came through. One of our drivers radioed in to tell us of the accident. At first we were told she was only hurt. Then later he called back to say she had died. There were 3 of us taking phone calls. We just sat there and carried on with our work. We didn’t speak a word to each other. We were in shock.

In the morning I drove to Hubby’s work to pick him up and went home. Tony, who was 9 then, was waiting outside looking very sad. He came over and told me he had some awful news. I told him I already knew and we all went inside to where 16 year old Chris and 12 year old Cat were watching the TV. I never did go to bed. Hubby went up after lunch as he had to work again the following night. I didn’t and I just watched the TV for hours as the news unfolded.

A couple of days later I had a call from the helpline where I volunteer to ask if I was able to do a duty Saturday morning. Without thinking I agreed. It was the time of the funeral, no wonder they were stuck. I’ll never forget that Saturday morning. Hereford was like a ghost town. There was hardly anyone anywhere. I have never seen it like that before or since. Nobody phoned during my duty, but we had to be there in case. Looking back I am rather glad I wasn’t watching the funeral live with the family. I would only have cried and I hate getting emotional in front of Hubby as he doesn’t get it.

I remember going to town the following week and Candle in the Wind was playing in all of the shops. There was a mass of flowers in front of the cathedral. I imagine every town had created a special place to put them. I think the laying of flowers in public places for people killed in accidents began around that time. I don’t remember it much before then.

All of that was 20 years ago. It was a strange time and one that will forever be etched on most people’s memories. One of those times that everyone can remember where they were when they first heard the news.


Last updated September 01, 2017


^..^Kat September 01, 2017

I completely remember that day too. I was at work and one of my supervisors had tears streaming down his face. When I asked him what was wrong, he told us that Princess Diana had been in a terrible crash that had killed her. We spent most of the rest of the day glued to the news. It was awful.

Marg September 03, 2017

I remember that day very vividly. I cried for most of it then we had the surreal experience of having to go to a Dougie MacLean concert at night because it was Boyd's birthday. I have no idea what he sang. I was in shock.

Did you see the BBC documentary on her relationship with the people of Wales? It was really lovely.

Sabrina-Belle Marg ⋅ September 03, 2017

Yes I watched that this afternoon. Was it on earlier where you are? It hadn't started when I read your message and I might have missed it if you hadn't mentioned it. It was lovely.

Marg Sabrina-Belle ⋅ September 04, 2017

I'm not sure when it was on exactly - I watched it on catch up on BBC iPlayer. Glad you enjoyed it as much as I did!

Marg September 03, 2017

That's a good point about the laying of flowers at a site - I don't remember that happening years ago either!

Deleted user September 07, 2017

I saw her get married and I saw her funeral. A person could not help but be fascinated by her . Poor beautiful little rich girl. She was just starting to come into her own when she died. The inquest was so poorly done that I can not help but think she was killed on purpose. She believed that is what would happen to her and it did. My heart still hurts for her boys.

Sabrina-Belle Deleted user ⋅ September 09, 2017

I really don't want to believe that, but I agree there are things that look suspicious. She has made her mark though. William and Harry are so like her, she has changed the way the royal family relate to the world.

Deleted user Sabrina-Belle ⋅ September 09, 2017

There were so many suspicious things that came to light in the inquest that a person has to wonder. Why were they going so fast to outrun paparazzi ? She had them everywhere and was totally used to them, why did they suddenly leave the Paris Ritz as the plan was to eat dinner and stay there ? Why did she think The Royal Family would have her killed in a car accident and write that to two people months prior ? Why was she put in an ambulance for 80 minutes with a doctor no one knew and who was never questioned , before being treated at a hospital ? That is what actually killed her because she was hemorraging internally . If she had received proper care at an ER she would have lived. No explanation asked for of why they did not take her to the hospital until she was almost dead. Why have all the pictures taken that night been seized and never viewed by anyone except members appointed by the English Court ? Including pictures from a camera in the tunnel that would have shown exactly what happened ? Why could they never locate the white Audi that supposedly ran their car into a divider in the tunnel although pictures of it and the license plate exist ? During the course of the inquest Henri Paul, the driver , was said to be " drunk as a pig", when in fact he had very little to drink verified by his tab at the Ritz. Blood samples obtained from him showing him to be inebriated were later found not to even be his blood type and finally mysteriously disappeared. He was not even Dodi Fayed's normal driver , so why was he driving at all ? The body guard, Trevor Reese- Jones , was injured badly but he did recover. He has clear recollections of what happened but was not questioned at the inquest at all. Nor has he ever made his story known. When the Queen was told Diana had been killed the first thing she asked was if Diana was wearing any significant jewelry and that if she was it was to be safe guarded immediately until it could be returned. She did not want Charles to fly with Diana's sisters to retrieve Diana's body . She encouraged Diana's boys to go to church and then a social event the day Diana was killed after they had been told that morning. Prince Phillip had many Nazi relatives and past affiliations with Nazis. It's well known the Royal family disliked other races and particularly disliked Dodi Fayed's Father. They would have hated to have the future king of England to have a Muslim step- father. Diana seemed drawn to Middle Eastern men. The English court from the beginning of the inquest fought constantly to dismiss the whole inquest . .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.