Barber's Adagio / Mercury in Retrograde in General

  • Aug. 28, 2017, 9:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It was the air show weekend this weekend. The Blue Angels were in town and the traffic was out of control. I don’t bother going to the air show any more because there is rarely anything I haven’t already seen, and it costs 40 bucks to get through the gates.

And I can watch the flight demos from my driveway.

Today was the day I was to transfer the funds from my IRA to my flying account. I opted to not do so.

Last week a series of unfortunate things have been going on. People close to me seem to be getting into accidents and getting bad news. My buddy Glenn broke up with his girlfriend, then got laid off. I said “What the hell, is Mercury in retrograde?”

Yep. Until September 5th.

I’d like to say I am not superstitious. But all aviators are at least a little superstitious. Because we have seen things that are not easily explained. You could ask any aviator you know, and they would laugh it off or change the subject.

I don’t want to start my requal when Mercury is in retrograde.

There was a snippet of Barber’s Adagio in the closing of part of an episode of Dexter.

Most people I have asked about it have said they think it is a beautiful, moving piece of music.

I actually find it soul-crushingly depressing. Perhaps we all hear music differently.


Deleted user August 28, 2017

Did you see where the Air Force has a huge shortage of pilots ?

Pintador August 28, 2017

Fitting music for Dexter. Were you a Dexter fan? I found the series after the fact and watched one or two episodes a night on Netflix until I had seen the whole thing. Loved it, though I thought the final episode was a little too much. I need to find another captivating series to binge watch. Any suggestions?

Duke Pintador ⋅ August 28, 2017

I swore I would never watch a show that made the bad guy into a good guy. Dexter is a hard show to explain. The next two series I watched were Sons of Anarchy and Breaking Bad.

Pintador Duke ⋅ August 28, 2017

I've seen Breaking Bad and loved it. Maybe I'll try SOA. Thanks.

=bernard= August 29, 2017

I usually watched Dexter when I was doing a show somewhere, I don't have cable but I loved this show. Not at all confusing for me I understood his motivation entirely.

=bernard= August 29, 2017

If I recall I believe Samuel Barber's adagio for strings was also used in the movie Platoon.

Deleted user September 20, 2017

I do believe we process music differently as all music evokes emotions that are unique to that person listening .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.