This, That, and Probably Others Too! in A New Beginning

  • Aug. 27, 2017, 7:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

First thing on my mind....a good FB friend of mine, with whom I went to high school, is in the hurricane-hit part of Texas. She and her family elected to stay put instead of evacuating. As soon as she posted that, a lot of people started giving her advice, criticizing her decision. I liked how she told them all, “I DO NOT NEED YOUR CRITICISM! This is our life and our decision, and it is our place to make it. The only thing we ask is that you can pray for us and/or hope for us if you want to.” Yes indeed! They have made it okay so far. They’ve lost electricity and a few shingles, but that’s all. We all (including me sometimes!!!!) need to stop taking it upon ourselves to treat our fellow ADULTS as if they are children needing us to manage their lives for them. Even when we just feel sooooooooo certain they are making a mistake. Most of us aren’t very thrilled over people giving US unasked-for advice, so why do WE do it? I only do this to Wendy, but really, who the hell do I think I am? Now that I’ve recognized this in myself, I can fix it.

Second thing....We ordered a knee-thingy that is supposed to wrap around one’s knee and apply pressure to the correct “point” to ease sciatica discomfort in one’s leg and hip. My work friend Sheila uses one and told me it helps her. WELL, we ordered it three friggin’ weeks ago and the damn thing STILL has not come. We just got an email two days ago saying it had been shipped! I’m thinking, probably on a slow boat from China!!!!

Third thing..... my sciatic-leg got sore from work, and then from walking around ten miles on Saturday. But I REMEMBERED (that’s a key word!!) that I can alleviate soreness that is actually ACTIVITY-caused, by doing my hamstring stretches. So, no more sore sciatic-leg! Go, me! Tomorrow I begin a full week back at work, so I will probably be doing those stretches daily. But they do work!

Fourth thing....all the walking on Saturday, we did at the Air Show up at Dover AFB. We and my sister Sandy went; Joey and his Stephanie went in their own vehicle, but followed us. It was really awesome, especially seeing the Thunderbirds and some of other really cool air demonstrations, and I took A LOT of photos of aircraft. But we were there from 11 until 5 o’clock (the end of the show) and then, because of the huge crowd, it took us more than an hour to get off the Base! Ugh!! By then we were sooooo frazzled! Today I read that there were 18,000 people there yesterday, so the long wait makes sense even though trust me, it wasn’t much fun. ;o)


Deleted user August 27, 2017

The air show sounds like fun. My husband worked on the flight simulator that the Thunderbirds trained on when he was in the Air Force many moons ago.

thesunnyabyss August 27, 2017

your photos on Facebook of the airshow were great, those huge planes are amazing, so are the smaller ones too, fascinating, I'm glad you had such a good time and took a lot of photos to share,

I think we are allowed to advise our friends and loved ones just a little, lol, even when they don't want it, lol, but I agree, other adults have enough on their plates than to have to defend every action they take to strangers,

I hope you have a good week at work and get lots of stretching in!!!

woman in the moon August 28, 2017

I think I would like advice - if it's meant to be helpful and it's something that I have some control of, meaning it's not criticism of something I've done after I've done it. Notes all tend to be kind of pile on things. We tend to follow other noters
I didn't see your FB photos. Guess I will go looking for them.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.