Was That ALL There Was to It?! :oO !! in A New Beginning

  • Aug. 24, 2017, 1:05 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The title was what I said about the eclipse here in Delaware on Monday. Gosh, even though we only got 80%, I thought it would get darker. I’ve seen darker cloudy days!! I know it was an awesome event for people who got to see the total eclipse, though. sigh Oh well, ya just don’t get to have EVERYTHING, do ya? I have seen more than one full Lunar eclipse, and those are awesome too, plus.....you can look right at ‘em, and it doesn’t hurt you! ;o) Plus, Joe and I used to see the Northern Lights OFTEN, when we lived in norther Maine. And I saw a Sun Dog once, which is extremely damn amazing because it looks like there are two Suns! And of course I’ve seen meteors. And a rocket or two, since we live an hour from a Nasa facility at Wallops Island, Virginia. So I s’pose I don’t have it too bad! ;o)

Yesterday was my first day back at work. For anyone who doesn’t know, I’m a high school food service worker and I LOVE my job and dearly LOVE our kids. Hey, someone has to love teenagers! :o) Our kids don’t start school ‘til Monday, but we are working two days this week to get things set up. We have a new manager this year, Jane. She is also my friend. I think she is going to be a GREAT manager. And we need a great one, because our manager who just retired, Sophia, had gotten very lax in the past few years. Of course she had put in 35 years and she was tired of working. I can understand that! But if you have so many years in, why not just RETIRE when you are tired of working, instead of continuing to come in and do a half-assed job?? Because she could’ve, with full retirement bennies, even though she was just in her mid-fifties. I really loved her though. It just bugged me how she wouldn’t speak up to the new (as of three years ago) cook, Lori, and make Lori do HER job right. Lori was damn lazy, and all her shortcuts made us (who served the food) work a lot harder. Jane told me that she is going to stay on top of this! I think work is going to get a lot better!

Hey, guess what?? I have been feeling sooooooooo good since my epidural injection on the 14th! Yesterday I only took TWO pills (tylenol) all day long!!!!! You know, that is the least number of pills I have taken in one days in years. That is just so wonderful!

Today is a day off for me; Wendy is coming over. So help me, I AM going to be nice to Wendy, THE ENTIRE TIME, no matter what harebrained thing she says, because she IS my best friend; we have fun together, and it is just plain rude for one adult to tell another adult what she “should” do.....unless asked, of course. I CAN DO THIS!!!!!

Welp, it was nice being up in the night for a little while. The past two days I haven’t gotten in nearly enough computer time. But now I have an hour and ten minutes left to sleep, so I’m going to go hop back into bed. :o)


GypsyWynd August 24, 2017

We had 80+% of the eclipse, too. I went outside, but didn't notice much change. I watched the totalty on TV.

thesunnyabyss August 24, 2017

I kept waiting for the sky to get a little dark even here and nope nothing, it's darker right now with some clouds, lol, but still it was cool to see the eclipse on line at least,

I'm glad you have a new co conspirator at work, that should help with the Lori situation,

enjoy your time with Wendy today!!!

woman in the moon August 24, 2017

That describes my eclipse too.
Have fun with Wendy tomorrow.
Be good to the kids on Monday. Trust they'll be good to you too.

Deleted user August 25, 2017

Here it was 97 percent, and looked like evening. I drove to stay with a friend where we saw totality, and oh my gosh it was awesome. I chuckled at your statement about seeing lunar eclipses. Every time I have ever tried to see one it has clouded up and rained during the whole thing!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.