General Update in Transition

  • Aug. 23, 2017, 5:24 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

House Update
The house sale is still going ahead so far. Almost four weeks and the buyer hasn’t pulled out, which I keep expecting to happen as an eternal pessimist. Myself, Annette and Jim have all returned our forms to the solicitor and she’s passed them onto the buyer’s solicitor. She’s now on holiday for a week so I hope that doesn’t delay it. I suppose we need to wait for the buyer’s solicitor to do stuff now.

I asked about the survey and apparently they’re not doing one as it’s a cash buyer so he doesn’t need one for the mortgage. He must be very trusting, I think I would still do a survey even if I was a cash buyer! This this is good news for me as it should hopefully speed things up a bit and be less likely to show up any nasties.

Flat Rental
I’ve sent back all the forms they’ve sent me so far, along with my ID and proof of address. I’ve also sent them £200 so they can carry out credit checks and get the referencing company to contact me for references. My credit check will be fine, I checked it lately and my credit score was 999/999. Win. So that’s £200 sunk into it that I won’t get back even if I back out, so it’s seriously in progress now! Moving date is pencilled in for 16th September, dad said he’ll come down to help me. I’ve lost count of the number of times dad’s helped me move house, I just want to settle somewhere. I think I’ve moved house 13 times since I left home 17 years ago sigh

Other Bits
Me and Dave went to the cinema last night. We were the only people in there for ages!

The film didn’t start, 15 minutes later Dave went out to ask what was going on, and they said the computer for the projector had crashed and wouldn’t restart. After 30 minutes, they came in and said they couldn’t get it to start so they’re going to refund our tickets and put us in a different screen. Not just any screen, their Gold Class screen! So we got big reclining seats with tables in between and a free box of popcorn each! These tickets are meant to be about £20 each, so I would say we won that one, even though we had to wait an extra 40 minutes.



I have to go on a site visit to Londinium next Thursday to see one of the buildings that we do maintenance for. Meet our engineers and get to go round this big posh solicitor building; Africa House.


I’m looking forward to it. We maintain hundreds of buildings that are miles away from our office, and we don’t even know what most of them look like. We talk to the engineers several times a day every day, and we don’t know what most of them look like either! So it should be a productive visit.

Plus, I get to go on the train which I’m looking forward to. 90 minutes each way to sit on my own and chill out with a book or games on my phone, AND I get paid for it. London, yeah!


Last updated September 26, 2017


Complicated Disaster August 23, 2017

I wouldn't worry about the solicitor going on holiday. The assistants do most of the actual work! Excellent win with the cinema! Xx

wintergrey August 23, 2017

Love going to London! I told the husband recently that I have been dealing with the guys at my warehouse, who take my kitchen deliveries and then send everything on to my clients, for over ten years and I have never been there (in Enfield) and I have never met any of them either. He thinks I should go and visit one day...

Babe In Toyland August 23, 2017

Sounds like a big old ball of positive!

Gonewiththebreeze August 23, 2017

Win win win! Fingers crossed everything goes well with the sale and what luck with the movie seats!

Lucretia August 24, 2017

Everything's looking awesome :D xx

Deleted user August 27, 2017

history of love August 28, 2017

That is so great about the cinema, hope things are still progressing well almost a week on (catching up, eek!)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.