Of eclipses and dementia in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Aug. 23, 2017, 2:50 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

August 21, 2017

It’s been almost three months since I retired, and my working years now seem like some distant past life. Even though I go back to visit my friends where I worked for the last 21 years, it’s like I’m entering a place I’d merely visit, as opposed to a place where I worked for so long, and whose surroundings had became more familiar to me than anything I had ever know before. Now they seem familiar but a bit alien as well. It’s difficult to explain.

I’m sitting here on the porch in my favorite rocking chair, the fan sending a pleasant breeze my way, thinking about all I want to write here, listening to the sounds of people out and about on the street and sidewalk. We’re near downtown so there’s always people walking by, and of course, all the area residents with their dogs. The total eclipse here was about three hours ago. It’s been a strange day. There was no caregiver until 4:30 so I couldn’t go anywhere, not that I really wanted to. Mom was sleeping much of the time, but when the day slowly and dramatically turned to night in the middle of the afternoon, she noticed. Dementia or not, her awareness of something strange and unusual happening was keen. “I’ve never seen anything like this before,” she said. I sure hadn’t either.

We didn’t have any solar glasses. I just took in all the sensations and emotions I was feeling. I’d seen and read a lot about the totality. YouTube has an indescribable quantity of videos, everything from personal experiences to science to conspiracy and signs. I’m sure it was an extraordinary experience to view it completely, and although I was curious to witness it, I didn’t need to. I think a lot of people actually felt they HAD to. I couldn’t go out of the house anyway, at least not for any period of time. An awe-inspiring cosmological event is not going to change my life, as some on YouTube promised. I don’t care for crowds, period, including crowds and spectacles. So it’s all over and done with now after a week of hype. Down here it took our minds off the mind-boggling events in Washington and an active hurricane season. Back to all that now. I have my own definition and examples of awe. A glorious sunset lighting up the early evening sky or a monarch butterfly on a brilliant red zinnia, for example. Life is full of awe every day, if you look for it. That’s why I’m always ready with my camera wherever I go.

Being retired has meant I have much more time to ponder all the events going on in the present, to think about life, and to reflect on where I’ve been up until now. I never felt this sense of past and present coalescing so dramatically before. The past has become much more poignant, vivid and alive to me. It’s like I must go back, that the past, or at least when I was young, represented a better time, as in my 20s. Some golden age. Of course, those years after college were indeed golden and unforgettable. But then the decade of my 30s came along with it’s unending rootlessness, times of unemployment and never being able to settle down. How did I cope then with all that? Every year I took long road trips across the country.

Going through file boxes of memorabilia and photos is a way for me to cope with the present, despite the anguish of seeing my mother slowly fade away. Every time I see a picture of her from years ago or read one of her letters, I don’t even recognize the person I see now. In some ways she seems like a totally different person. But I also wonder how well I ever really knew my mother. I was always in perpetual conflict with my father up until his final illness. When you never felt welcome in your own home, even as an adult, that drives a wedge between the other parental relationship, as well. So the person I am taking care of now is someone who was as much mediator and protector as mother. I didn’t actually see her that often when I left New Orleans after college and started life on my own in Columbia, South Carolina back in 1973. Even though I didn’t see her much, I loved her deeply, but at a distance. Parental relationships are often that way, I feel.

The longer I have to deal with her dementia, and the worse her memory and health become, the more depressed I get. One can certainly see why it’s so hard to shake off. It really takes a monumental act of faith sometimes to just feel normal, let alone happy or content. It’s an effort getting up in the morning after I’ve been been up so much during the night. I’m going to try some counseling this week after putting it off. I really don’t want to. But it’s getting too difficult to cope now. In my next entry, as part of my ongoing Dementia Journal, I am going to post some text messages I sent this summer to my brother and sister and a good friend. Sometimes in the midst of the worst episodes with my mother, I text. It’s another way of coping and keeping my sanity.

Going back a moment to the eclipse, depression makes it very hard to look forward to, or even appreciate, things that in a more “normal” state of mind might have been thrilling and transformative. I had to imagine what the totality was like, as far as what the sun looked like, but just seeing the darkness descend in the middle of the day was a visceral experience. However, when not too much earlier in the day I was cleaning up and changing disposable undergarments, dealing with incontinence, and trying to get my 93-year-old mother back to the sofa without a fall, it’s very difficult to see the sun behind the clouds, eclipse or no. When I do get her settled again, the questions start: “Who are you?” “Are you my son?” “Where are we?” “Is this my home?” And sometimes it just doesn’t stop until she dozes off or goes to bed.

There’s a dull ache in my brain this afternoon, but just as the sun began to emerge from the moon’s shadow after that very brief, surreal time of total eclipse, so, too, do I realize that the pain and suffering both my mother and I are experiencing will end some day, and there will be a new dawn, no matter when that finally occurs for both of us. Suffering will have served its purpose.


Last updated August 23, 2017


Deleted user August 23, 2017

So true. It's just so hard for you right now. Hard for her too. No one would willingly want to live like that ..

Marg August 23, 2017

This reminds me very much of a documentary I was watching yesterday which had a quote from Nietzsche in it - 'To live is to suffer. To survive is to find some meaning in the suffering.' I would say you are doing that admirably.

Newzlady August 23, 2017

You are amazing.

And I like the comment about there being awe in every day if you look for it: so true!

Eriu August 23, 2017

The depression is natural for a variety of reasons, and seeing a counselor is a good idea. That person might have new ideas to try - I wanted to say "to help cope" but I think you're doing that and well aware of all the nuances of what's going on; you're tired both physically and emotionally. The therapist can help you find an outlet. You know why you're doing this and why you're tired, and that is a strength in itself. You're way ahead by recognizing awe in every day, and that helps keep you strong, too. As I've heard, God never gives us more than we can handle. Mother Theresa said, "But I wish he didn't trust me so much!" (I hope I got that right!)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.