Knitting ~ Crazy Fair Isle Scarf in Creations

  • Jan. 31, 2014, 9:01 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I saw this very cool scarf on Pinterest about a year ago ~

Scarf

I immediately wanted to make one myself, but didn't have a lot of experience with Fair Isle and thought to myself, Self, that's going to take a hell of a lot of time. I decided to go for it anyway and began the scarf, knitting for awhile and then putting it aside because it got tedious. I finally finished it up when I was laid up with my broken ankle. This is my version of the scarf. A little less refined than the one on Pinterest ~

Fair Isle Scarf

The scarf is began with a provisional cast on, knitted in the round, and using various Fair Isle motifs until you get to the desired length. I used only black and white yarn (Berroco Comfort DK), but you could easily do the same thing with other colors or more variety of color.

This took hours and hours of knitting and no small amount of money to complete. I'll probably never wear it because it is quite warm. I've put far too much time and money into the project to give it away, only for it to end up in a yard sale or Goodwill bin, so it will just be there for me to admire and wear if I ever go anywhere cold.


FishTacoLover January 31, 2014

You have crazy knitting skills! I love seeing your creations. It's very cold up here, btw. Hint. ;)

FishTacoLover January 31, 2014

P.S. I like your version better!

MJ's Page January 31, 2014

I like yours better, actually. What a masterpiece, Linda!

noko January 31, 2014

Just gorgeous! Admire away. Knowing nothing about actually knitting (I missed that gene) I am embarrassed to say I just like the way the waves and the hearts and the skulls all go together. :)

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm January 31, 2014

that is gorgeous! you are so talented. i can't imagine knitting. my thumbs and the pads on my hands kill me. they hurt all the time. knitting seems to be out of the question for me. take car,e

MaggieTheCat January 31, 2014

That is so amazing!!

Overachiever January 31, 2014

That is awesome!

BentnotBroken January 31, 2014

Have you ever thought of putting it on Etsy?.. Or auctioning it to your readers? A lot of us would love to purchase something hand knitted by you. :-)

Linda BentnotBroken ⋅ January 31, 2014

Thanks for the suggestions. I have $80 in yarn alone invested. I'm pretty sure there wouldn't be any takers for what I would feel it was worth.

Kate Linda ⋅ January 31, 2014

I was going to suggest Esty. People will pay, trust me.

pb reader Linda ⋅ January 31, 2014

It's priceless! Your version is more imaginative and creative.

Sugar Magnolia January 31, 2014

All I know is knit and purl and this looks incredibly difficult to me. I see Sherry in scarves a lot - leave it to her in you will ;) Truly beautiful work Linda.

Deleted user January 31, 2014

You make amazing things! :) I'm still getting the hang of crocheting, and once I do I'm going to try my hand with knitting. After this giant ass afghan I'm 1/3 of the way through is done...dios mio.

SweetMelissa January 31, 2014

It's absolutely beautiful.

RoseS January 31, 2014

It's lovely! Every time you post your projects I think, I want to learn to do that! But there's this arthritis in the thumb joints and a billion other excuses.... The skulls kind of scare me.

offmychest January 31, 2014

send it to me I am freezing LOL I think it looks great, love it

MageB January 31, 2014

That's an amazing work of art. I note that the original doesn't have skulls. :)

pb reader January 31, 2014

It is absolutely awesome! I told my daughter about it when you first posted the picture on FB. I think I shared it with her. She's also a knitting expert like you and she said it is beautiful.

=bernard= February 01, 2014

Yeah like Pelican said changing yarn and design, the mind boggles. It's gorgeous. Wear it in good health.

Deleted user February 01, 2014

Beautiful stuff! Are you the one who embroidered on a denim jacket? I was definitely going to do that, and then didn't. I may take that up this winter.

deliciae February 08, 2014

with that warm beauty, you are well on your way to being prepared to hang out with me in chicago, where it was a balmy -2 today. just sayin. :) also, those skulls in your version are the freakin BEST!

i bought some needles and yarn lately, determined to use all this free time i have (not working right now) to teach myself to knit. so far i have completed one row of 30 cast on stitches. my plan is to knit and purl my way through this entire skein of yarn until i end up with a long scarf and a lot of practice.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.