Fall. In alaska. in General Chatterboxing

  • Aug. 21, 2017, 4:02 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

For the rest of you enjoying the tail end of your summer. Or perhaps the middle. You wont now what im talking about. :) Its hard to imagine your summer starts in late may and ends by the first week of august. We are seeing in the 50s and rain. The leaves are half green half gold. Soon they will be gold and brown. then gone. In the next 2-3 weeks we will be bare.
The smell of fall is in the air. the crispness of the air when you breathe. The subtle bite in the wind. The smell of the high bush cranberries ripening. It smells well… like something slightly rotten and fall lol!
I took my three youngest and their friend to the school. We went to the lake behind the school and picked us a few cups of high bush cranberries. Ill wash and freeze them. Waiting for the time when i can get some strawberries and temper their sweetness with the crans. The tart bite of the high bush makes a great mix for strawberry. Either a jam, or a syrup for waffles.

I dont have much drive for things. The reality of my un-health is stifling sometimes. I have enough in me to do one or two big things a day. And one of those is always driving to the gas station for a soda. The mind is willing but the body isnt very able. Im too tired. too weighted down. My arms feel like they weigh 100 lbs each. It makes living hard. Yesterday i had a good day and took the kids out, twice. Once to the animal swap market and once berry picking. Thats a good day for me! I wanted to get blueberries, but we found none. :( Have to go 75 miles north to find them and i dont have the gas and gas money for that. No blues for us i guess.

Im working on a contract spin. 1000m of grey merino. two ply. its hell. 1 lb makes around 500 m. Its a shit ton of work.... a lot… hours and hours. And i sprained my thumb, which makes typing hard, and spinning hard. It hurts to draft my fibers thin enough to spin. Not a good time to hit his issue.

Kids are back in school. Its a good thing! so far so good on all four fronts! cross your fingers. one week down :)
Hopefully it continues.
Well waffle time :)


whowhatwhere August 21, 2017

It's crazy to think that's it's now fall for you. It's still high supper here, 92 feels like 104. It will be hot like this for a few more months.

Azrael August 22, 2017

Fall is always my favorite but goes way to quickly up there! And yea where I am we have at least 2 more months of summer...

Lina Azrael ⋅ August 22, 2017

Yeah for my parents too. And we will be in winter before you get to fall lol!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.