In the beginning there was dial-up in Hot town, summery in the city - 2017

  • Aug. 20, 2017, 1:03 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It was a fear of not utilising it fully. The internet was filled with so much information, I compared it to our brains. That we only use a small part of our brains. My fear was that, I wouldn’t use the internet fully enough. How can you have so much information at your finger tips yet not even think to access it.

Rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrthrrrrrrppppppweeeeeeeeesqueeeeeeeeeeeppppppppprpprpp

That was 1997 and I was 26. I eventually got the internet and I felt as though this whole world was blossoming in front of me. Amazon happened and I was able to buy books otherwise unavailable to me. I was able to order things from America that I missed from my year living there, two years earlier.

Prprprprprprpsgsfsfsgshsshbrrrrrrrrpppppppptztztztztztztztztxtxxxxxhcccccccxxxcxcxcxcxcxcxc

And I was able to make contact with people. I could write to someone and they would be able to read it a second - A WHOLE SECOND - later! I joined forums and chatted with people. I quickly discovered that I wasn’t chat room savvy, that there were weirdos out there but I also got to see different ways of life. The information was like neural pathways lighting up in a newborn as she learns about life.

Scrchscrchscrchscrchooouuuieeeeeeeerererekkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk

I got my own phone line into a shared house, switched on my pc (it took up a whole corner of my room) as soon as I was home from work. Then I dialed into the World Wide Web.

Frfrrrfrfrpppppppeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeechhchgchgchfchggghhhhhrrrreeeeeeeepppppp

And I was connected.

To this whole, huge world that I had only viewed through books, through movies, through second hand words and viewpoints. I could see them for myself.

And the fear slowly faded, that of not using the entire internet. Especially after discovering some of the home made websites and how dull they were. Everyone had a website then didn’t they? 😝

And now, twenty years later, I don’t have a computer at all. My phone line is my phone and I only have four pages that I read regularly. Facebook, Prosebox, email and a running social media site that I use.

All that information on the World Wide Web and I’ve made my world tiny once more.

CONNECTION LOST

Damn, I must be having TCPIP issues again.


Last updated August 20, 2017


thesunnyabyss August 20, 2017

I for one am thankful we don't have that screech anymore, but like you I have my sites I visit and not much more, except for recipes, and movie info, lol,

Deleted user August 20, 2017

I am so glad we wete there when it all started. We were the perfect age and we are the only generation that were young adults without internet at all and then adults with full internet integration.

I was ALLLLL about the chat rooms in those first years. I am still friends with a couple people from those chat rooms 23 years ago.

But man...i still use the internet soooo many times a day and have at least 15 apps i use every day. Wait...maybe THAT is why i'm tired! 😁

Deleted user August 26, 2017

I love exploring the web but it can be a real time waster. It's like a forest, you can get lost in it .

edna million August 30, 2017

Oh, that dial-up sound!!! And not being able to use the phone if you were online. I still remember the first email I got, from my cousin who was in the Peace Corp. It was SO EXCITING! I also remember just having text on the web for ages- no pictures. Also recall my BFF getting totally hooked on chat rooms and having $300 phone bills back in the days before data. I still use a desktop at work, but have gone from a laptop at home to a 9" iPad. I do use it quite a lot, though.

colojojo September 12, 2017

<3

Deleted user October 03, 2017

I did all that too and I still explore quite a lot. I get bored with the same old sites and I have some favorite apps.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.