I asked for your opinion. Here's mine. in Hot town, summery in the city - 2017

  • Aug. 19, 2017, 2:36 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I copied this from a note I left for Simple Minds.

I’ve never had an issue with the DM. I always believed he tried to his best for us and that OD went down because he wouldn’t give away our privacy (like Mark Zuckerberg does without thought). I’m worried about his motives but not for our sakes, for his. He (allegedly) said he loved the positive community of OD and, in this current political climate, wants that back.

I also have nostalgia for the innocence of the early internet, but so many things have changed. Even if OD comes back, I don’t think he’d get what he’s looking for. The online community will never resemble those of us who discovered his awesome site in 1998 because now we know so much more, understand so much more which gives rise to greater depth of opinion. Ergo, the cosy community we had 15, 16 + years ago cannot be replaced.


Deleted user August 19, 2017

Is OD coming back? I don't know what's going on.

Deleted user August 19, 2017

He was not open or responsive at all those last years. He simply broke a lot of hearts and lost a lot of trust in my opinion. He handled the shutdown very very poorly I think.

thesunnyabyss August 19, 2017

you are a wise woman,

Deleted user August 26, 2017

I liked OD very much but it was the people there more than the site. I have found PB to be just as good , if not better.

edna million August 30, 2017

Totally agree that it won't be the same at all - although I'm really interested to see what does happen with it. Even before it finally died for good it seemed like so many people had stopped writing, and many of them had gone to Facebook as a replacement of sorts. I felt like he handled the drawn-out ending badly, and communication was awful, but at least we had warning before the very end and time to download everything.

ermentrude edna million ⋅ August 30, 2017

I was duel writing here and OD for six months before OD died.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.