Rain...again in Just in Case

  • Aug. 15, 2017, 8:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Around here it seems to be feast or famine. We are either going weeks without rain or like now - rain daily. Some days it’s heavy and storms, others it’s off an on showers. When it’s not raining it’s HOT and humid, right after the rain its HOT and humid. Sometimes during the rain it’s HOT and humid. All of this means, as usual, we start school with inside recess. We’re in the 90s, and real feel is over 100. insert unhappy face here
I’ve centered my classroom around Gene Kranz’s speech after the Apollo 1 fire about being Tough and Competent. I have an excerpt from his speech and from John Kennedy’s Rice University speech on my wall. So we spent the last 2 days going over the Space Race. With the change in curriculum it doesn’t really fit as well any more, but the kids really enjoy it. There’s some good discussion and thinking going on, so I will continue to do so. We’re preparing to watch the eclipse on Monday. (If the RAIN holds off. I’m gonna be maaaaaaaaad if it doesn’t. We had an organization donate 250 viewing glasses for our kids to use. I’m not sure what all of the other grades are doing.. We’ll use 75 or so of the glasses, and the 6th grade another 85 or so, then the rest will be spread out. I was a little ticked off. My principal let me know I was the only teacher who contacted her about getting viewing glasses. (I was going to get them for just the 5th grade and it would have been almost $75.) Then I found the request to get some donated. They were, of course, overwhelmed with requests, so they sent half of what each person/organization requested. Now the 3rd and 4th grade teachers are angry that their kids won’t have enough glasses. I said they could partner kids, 2 or 3 to a pair of glasses. It’s a slow process, they’ll be able to see lots. Nope, that didn’t make them happy. I shared lots of activities with them about building different viewers - nope that didn’t make them happy either. We’ve known about this eclipse for months. There’s no reason why they couldn’t have searched for glasses this summer. They literally just sat back waiting for me to figure it out. I’m a little over that this year. I’m over doing for others because it’s expected. I’m frustrated with people not willing to do their part. And it’s day 2.....


terriberri August 15, 2017

You need summer vacation already...lol.

dream seeker terriberri ⋅ August 16, 2017

Actually I'm ok, lol. It's more a "letting it go" that's happening. There's so much for me going on this year, and I have reached out to try and help with mixed results. I've decided I'm focused on my kids and my room, and they're just going to have to figure it out.

Jigger August 15, 2017

I can't believe they were that careless with such an opportunity! I remember when I was a little kid, someone's parent brought in a welding helmet, and we all just took turns really fast. Luckily, it was a really small school!

Small Town Girl August 20, 2017

I just found out about the eclipse last night!! :(
What did bitchy J decide to do with that nasty cat killing dog?! My co-worker is dog sitting a black mouthed cur, a puggle, and 3 Chihuahua mixes this week. Hope this Cur isn't a killer of small animals for her to deal with!!

Deleted user Small Town Girl ⋅ August 26, 2017

Hoping your coworker keeps the animals well separated ; especially at food time. It's just common sense not to mix big dogs that you do not know well with other small animals or children. Doing that is asking for a tragedy and yet I am constantly horrified at the people who do not make the effort or don't pay attention. Last week a baby was killed by a pitbull and of course everyone climbed on the " Let's condemn all pitbull Wagon" but where were the baby's parents or parent ? And why in this world would you leave an infant alone with any animal unsupervised ? People do not think and then the animals are blamed for being animals.

dream seeker Deleted user ⋅ August 26, 2017

Unfortunately, as far as I know, she still has them all. She said they feed the cur, but don't pet it, or mess with it. She says she knows if she brings it to a rescue, and they find out that it killed a cat, they'll destroy it. I commented that I knew a lot of people with awesome curs, but that they are hunting dogs, not meant for in the house. I don't blame the dog, because he was just being a dog. She said she keeps the other cat shut up in a room during the day to keep them away. I just can't imagine. :( It was awful.

Deleted user dream seeker ⋅ August 26, 2017

It's good she knows better now . Poor dog, it needs training and affection more than ever to change .

Small Town Girl dream seeker ⋅ August 28, 2017

Yikes. That isnt exactly fair for the poor cur either to be neglected.

Deleted user August 26, 2017

I can completely understand feeling that way .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.