Grass and long storeys. in The odd entries from life …….

Revised: 08/13/2017 2:40 a.m.

  • Aug. 12, 2017, midnight
  • |
  • Public

The last day of an other week, I was going to say ‘it was a quite week’ not really a jumping week but I did to the Podiatry Service, they told me I was right – my big toe nails are growing; they should not after treatment to remove them at to stop them growing again! Now I just wait and see how they grow, if I’m lucky the may grow ok; or I well go it once more.

The week was rather dull, still damp and not enough dry weather to cut the grass, Wednesday afternoon was the best, so I get going before we lose Lola in the grass. It was hard going as the grass was very wet at the bottom, I set the mower to high and after few yards I had to stop and remove a half empty grass-box, then turn over the mower to remove bricks of wet grass; I had two thirds of the lawn cut.

When I get the last cut I will wait a day or two, then set the mower lower, that will a treat for Lola, Ziggy’s ok he will go through any thing; you should see him after a wet and muddy day!

alt text

Late in the afternoon I went out for a walk my small camera in hand, I didn’t know what was here to photograph, I linger on the rain way bridge looking to Plymouth then to Truro; nothing seemed to be coming. Then I head ball on bat just up the road, Grempound Road Cricket Club is next to the railway, our only club, pub and Cricket for those inclined to watch or take up the bat or ball.

alt text

The cricket ball is very hard I once stopped one with my chest, we should not to that – wheal I think! My second cricket bat ball came my way in a school match some years after stopping the ball …. The batsman had sent the ball to me, I was not very good at sport the batsman at the bowling end call out ‘it’s only Mason’ I stood there thinking I must catch that ball, it seems a long time as I watch that ball coming to me; I watched it come to my hands hard on my fingers but I had it there in my hands.

alt text

Those in my Team were happy or relieved, I felt both and also happy it didn’t hit me, the batsman out walked of the field looking as if lucky was unfair; alas you don’t get a cup for once chatting one cricket ball – just a cup of orange after the match.

alt text

If you would like to know my position on the Cricket Pitch, it is called ‘Silly mid – off’ the English at play; silly because it is silly to be there; danger!

alt text

[ I bring this little story once every year ]

All my photographs were taken close to the boundary, not in side out ……

alt text


Last updated August 13, 2017


jamez August 13, 2017

Very good.... (c:

Roseyrays August 13, 2017

NorthernSeeker August 15, 2017

Nice action photos. I had one big toenail removed and it grew back. The solution for me is pedicures...the technician always grinds down the thick toenail so it looks better and hurts less.

Marg August 16, 2017

Well played that man!😄

Deleted user August 25, 2017

:-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.