Where HAVE I Been?! in A New Beginning

  • Aug. 9, 2017, 3:20 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I haven’t written in days. It seems like many days! So I’d better get on the ball here!
Sad to say (though I’m not really sad about it), much of my time and attention have been devoted to getting myself through ‘til my epidural injection ON MONDAY THE 14TH!!!!! without being too damn sore and miserable. Such is life! We humans have to have something to do, don’t we? ;o)
But I’m proud to say, I HAVE, after a year and a half (or so-ish), gotten past the point where my spine problem is pretty much all I think about! My mind is open to other things again! Yaaaaay!!!!! From my goal of reading ONE book this summer, I have read FIVE! :o) !! Some were not particularly long books, but hey, they were books. “Chapter books,” as opposed to “picture books”! :o) !!
And over the last week I have been busy doing a modicum of research and writing for my two special FB pages, The Living Goddess and The Living God. So again I say, enthusiastically, GO ME. In two weekends I will be re-joining my coven as an active member, and Annie (my High Priestess and friend) has already assured me that she would LOVE for me to be her Scribe again, so there. I will be back in the thick of things, even though, as many Assembly members have told me, I never really took much of a step back anyway.
Mine and Joe’s 37th anniversary is today! We got married at my Dad’s house in Smyrna, Delaware, on the hottest day of the year it seemed. Dad had no AC in the big three-story, 250-year-old brick house. So....WHEW!! But we had fans. BOY DID WE HAVE FANS! I wore a white gown....very pretty, but not a “wedding gown” per se. It had pearl buttons and tiny violets on the sash, and some lace. Joe wore his dress blues. My matron of honor was my sister Carol, and one of Joe’s Air Force buddies was his best man. My brother took the pictures. The minister was one Dad knew. My Mom had passed away four months before. :o( Joe’s Mom and kid brother came down from Maine on the bus for our wedding. And then, since I hadn’t yet met Joe’s family, we drove to Maine the day after the wedding to spend about a week. Ma tried to insist that she and brother Mike would take the bus home too, but we insisted they ride with us! I mean heck....we were all going there, right? So for years afterwards, Ma enjoyed telling people that she went with us on our honeymoon. :o)
I’m not going to be long-winded about it for once, but it has been a good marriage. We are still married! ;o) TO EACH OTHER!! :oD And I believe we love each other and are actually more romantic than when we started. We didn’t really know each other then, but we sure do now, and we still want to be together!
In the last 37 years, we have had our two kids and they have both grown up and are in their thirties! We are grandparents and parent-in-laws!
We lived in a lot of different places, since we were an Air Force family. But we’ve owned just one home (this one) and have lived here for 24 or 25 years.
All of our parents have now passed away, and so has my brother,
Joe has retired from the Air Force and will retire from the school district in less than two years. YAAAAAAAAAY!!
I was a stay-home wife and mom for a lot of our years, but I’ve worked for the school long enough to get a retirement also. :o)
We’ve had a number of pets, but Guinness is our first dog in many years, and I find myself so much more capable of loving him, at the age I am now, than I ever was of loving the pets we had many years ago.
And now? I’m going back to bed! :o)


woman in the moon August 09, 2017

I love the way you write here. I know you so well. It's been a lot of years we have 'been together' on the internet too. I'm not sure I ever read about your wedding before - the violets on the sash of your dress seems new and Joe's mom saying she went on your honeymoon with you is very sweet and fresh. You have lived and are continuing to live and will live for along time a good life. I'm fortunate to know you.
Happy anniversary to you and Joe and the kids and grandkids and to good old Guinness - whose name I have to look up to spell every time i write it.

Here I am again! woman in the moon ⋅ August 09, 2017

Don't you worry about how to spell Guinness's name. HE thinks it's spelled B-I-N-G-O! :o)

thesunnyabyss August 09, 2017

Happy Anniversary!!!!

you guys are such a great example of working thru life together, thank you for that,

may you have many, many more celebrations!!!

Deleted user August 09, 2017

Happy Anniversary!

Ragdolls August 09, 2017

Happy Anniversary, my friend! May you have many more happy years together.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.