Theres a Lot of Hot Air Out There...... in Majimaze Musing!

  • Aug. 9, 2017, 12:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hi there Readers. I was going to write an entry today anyway so I will start with a sad piece of news. Glen Campbell has died at 81. He was suffering from Alzheimers. To me he represented the best of Country and Western music , telling a story with a beautiful unforgettable voice. He wrote all his own songs then presented them to the world, full of emotion and longing and
it has always resonated with me. I rarely overpraise singers, however this man and his guitar and his voice has stayed with me over the years and even if he, Glen, could not remember his songs, I am playing and singing them in my mind as I write. The best eulogy I can write for him. Rest in Peace dear Glen.Your legacy is safe in my mind. God Blessxx.

As to the title : POLITICS! Ugh!! I must be getting old and intolerant, as I am really and truly OVER politics! We have International politics and now our own little nation is in a state of frenzy over our elections coming up in a couple of months.There have been a couple of hiccups concerning two parties and media is full of panic and that phrase I used for a title.HOT AIR !At least Glen Campbell could never be accused of that!! I have a theory that the media, by being so ubiquitous, are now so influencing voters, candidates and whole nations, that we may as well call this state of affairs, ‘government by media’. Ridiculous. And there are entire generations coming who will never know any different. And that is only OUR election politics. Every possible person who has an opinion is recorded and picked over by media vultures in a manner which is frenzied and reminds one of real vultures in Africa picking and squabbling over a carcass.

I am NOT going to go into International politics. There has just been an announcement about North Korea and USA and nuclear bombs and the panic and doom is just starting! H-e-l–P!!

It has been an interesting month for me. Lots of family stuff and a few highlights which still please me. We can never stop being Mums and when one of our children is hurting, we hurt as well.
My son , whom I adore has just finished what looked like a very promising relationship. He is 47 so NOT a baby. He loves women however, has no great success with them apart from 4 lovely children from 3 of these ladies and I love my grandies to bits.
He and the latest had been together for 2 years and spent 6 months of that time as a fencer and cook on on far flung Chatham Islands 800 kms east of NZ. All seemed hunky-dory, however, they had a small break from each other then back again and got a house together and seemed settled then, after he had been away with his son for a week , he went back and found all his gear outside and an exboyfriend installed.

Yes, yes, I am aware that there are always two sides to a story. However, my son is heartbroken and only just starting to recover.
I am the first to admit he is not ideal long term relationship material. He is REALLY good looking and the ladies love that,and they also,to begin with, love the fact that he is very independent and likes to spend time away by himself in the bush, deer-stalking. He is a contract fencer by trade which means he is away a lot fencing miles of paddocks.
Now, he gets that from his Dad. And I could take it because I too am independent and I didn’t want to change him and I never did. I married him when he was in the forces and he was away overseas for most of our first 2 years of marriage. I grew to love the reunions and make a life for myself in his absence. He died in 2006 on his yacht coming back from a trip. I still had the man I loved at the beginning and I still adore him. We were married for 43 years and took the good with the bad.

There is really a lesson here. I could tell the ladies not to try to change him ‘cos you won’t succeed and I could tell my lovely warm loving son, to try to settle down. I will NOT do that!
For many hours and lots of $$$ on the phone I comforted him and listened as he cried and let it all out including the anger and hurt and repeated over and over how much I love him.
He is 47 and I love his wild side which also makes him vulnerable and I am his Mum. End of story. I think he is slowly coming right. And I pray for him every day.God Bless you darling.

Otherwise a few highlights from July. I did a presentation on request for Toastmasters on Body Language. Many people when they speak publicly tense up and don’t use their bodies as a tool. After many years on stage and as part of my rather ‘up front’ nature, I use body language all the time to reflect and describe my speech, so I did the presentation and they LOVED it! I expressed every emotion and it worked.That still pleases me.

True to my plan of going out more often, I have been to the City with a club and got such sore toes, I am still treating them however enjoyed outing socially, and I have been to our annual Toastmasters mid winter dinner and enjoyed that, and also been to a 70 th birthday of a person I didn’t know particularly well, along with another 140 odd others which blew my mind! I found out far more about the person and had been asked to write a poem so accepted to go. Luckily I wrote the poem about being 70 and for laughs as after an hour of people praising his money making and business acumen ,everyone including myself was ready for a laugh! And the lunch was really scrummy! My toes were sore again and my back from standing waiting for buses and at the venue while the tables were set up for lunch. All worth it tho.
My other families are fine and kids in various stages of recovery from ‘flu etc! I am well and sick of winter! Rain rain rain!
So, all I can say is, live your lives as you wish, vote for whom you wish, be true to yourselves and your values, loyalty and love to families and friends, be kind and God Bless you allxxxx
Love
Majimaze


TruNorth August 09, 2017

God bless you too majimaze. We never stop being mums and I also fret about my grownup children. Still wanting to protect them from life's problems.

crystal butterfly August 09, 2017

Sorry to hear about your son's break up. The North Korean happenings are very scary and it seems no one really wants to stand up to their dictator so he is trying to keep the world hostage with not knowing what his mental process may have him do.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.