Necrotic Heart in POETRY

  • Aug. 7, 2017, 11:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public


Veins collapse with each inhale
- Stuttered breaths… a wordless death
Contort me
in
right angles.

My flesh is an eggshell cracking under the asphyxiating weight of unmovable depression.
Migraines, searing pain through my eyes… my thoughts are jellied to the liquefied pool that was once my heart.

I am the blackening of vision; the undeniable quiddity of Hell; an inkwell full of blood with no quill to write with.

Necrosis of the mind is like a plastic pie… it’s really there and looks appetizing though covered and filled with lies.

Where once a silver lining; all shimmer has sullied to moldy grays whereupon my sweaty imprints are engraved.

Never a dawn, nor a dusk
No oceans or mountainscapes
Nothingness… is a haze of indecisiveness, a cloudy maze… day
                                                                      … after day
                                                   … after day
                               … after day

I lost love ‘fore the definition ever made sense.  When darkness first hugged me it was the parent’s offense that I cuddled its icy embrace.  Claiming ignorance to the shame, a soul cannot grow without the sun, thus begins an end without a median.

I fathom life without significance.

Enveloped with freezing dew under a cloudless oppression limits any forward movement or thought.  Always two steps back to the one in front; I am a pauper, a slow dancing marionette twirling and pining away full of emptiness and hate…

Liquefying tortuously away… (alone) despoiling for the devil and his proselytes
     … in this heat-less, heartless and immortally shaded Hades…
     … that I…
                call
                home.

By:  Jaye Eryk
Copyright © 2013


Shattered August 07, 2017

This was suffocating to read. That's the best I know how to describe it.

Marg August 09, 2017

I always read your poetry several times because there is so much meaning in every sentence - it's almost impossible to take in at a first reading. (I mean that in a good way😊). That format for '... after day' works really well.

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Marg ⋅ August 10, 2017

I don't write them to be understood, just felt, but I'm glad they are worthy of more than one read.

:)

As far as formatting goes, pb doesn't allow formatting, so I have to alter the way I have them originally written, it sucks, but I do try to keep the spacing the same so some of the ellipses aren't actually ellipses but for spacing.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.