Just A Short One in Day by Day

  • Aug. 7, 2017, 7:59 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I bought a new painting new painting

The title is “Island Girl in the Rain” and has joined my Island Wall. I’m very happy with her.

There’s not a lot going on. We took youngest son and his brother and girlfriend to dinner to celebrate youngest son’s 30th birthday. I had fried jumbo oysters and a fruit bowl. It was good but didn’t sit well on my gastro system. I’ve been having some problems in that department.

My sons have decreed we are not exchanging Christmas or birthday gifts any longer. I’m not very happy about it. We did have a nice visit and I got to see his new little beach house (and it is VERY little). He made a deal with the owner: she pays for materials and he fixes the place up and gets to live there for free. He’s done a beautiful job: marble counters in the little kitchen and a glass shower enclosure in the surprisingly generous bathroom. The bedroom is only large enough to fit a double bed. He plans to install a Murphy bed. The closet is in the laundry room off his bedroom and the laundry room leads to a little backyard. The floors are bamboo and set on the diagonal, which makes the space seem larger.

It has everything: small kitchen, small eating area, small living area, desk area, small bedroom, laundry, etc. Even though it’s small, it’s really cute and only two blocks from the beach! And no rent! Why wasn’t I this smart when I was 30?


QueenSuzu August 07, 2017

WOW for your son, what a smart guy--I am sure he gets his smarts from his mom who didn't use them when she was 30 cuz she was saving them for him😝😝!

Chic Chat August 07, 2017

No kidding! Sounds like the perfect set up.

ConnieK Chic Chat ⋅ August 08, 2017

My youngest is a funny kid. We helped him with a down payment for his first house (and gave him a lot to build on) and he built a "Katrina Cottage" (a pre-fab that can withstand hurricane force winds). After a couple of years, he decided it was too far away (a 40 minute drive from our city), so he rented it out and moved in with friends. Then he moved out on his own and rented the extra bedroom in his apartment to Air BnB people. Then he decided to buy a house in our city (which I had to co-sign for). After a year, he moved out and is renting that one, too, while he lives in the beach cottage. NOW he's put the house in this city up for sale. No idea what happens after he gets done with the beach cottage. LOL!

GypsyWynd August 07, 2017

See, he takes after his mom. Smart.

ConnieK GypsyWynd ⋅ August 08, 2017

I love you. :)

Shattered August 07, 2017

What a sweet deal your son has!

ConnieK Shattered ⋅ August 08, 2017

It just seems to fall into his lap. I could live there quite happily, but it would be too small for me AND my husband. It really is a home for a single person.

Wranglingal August 08, 2017

Wow how awesome is that plan. Love your picture

ConnieK Wranglingal ⋅ August 08, 2017

Thanks! And, yeah, those kinds of deals never fell into MY lap! LOL!

Eriu August 08, 2017

Some of the deals fell into his lap because of the skills you taught him; people learn something and improve on it. I've never had oysters, but - and this shouldn't be true - anything fried sounds good! For one of my birthdays I declared that no one needed to bring presents, so people brought "gifts" for Charlie, my car.

ConnieK Eriu ⋅ August 08, 2017

Too bad he'll never have children. My grandkids would be geniuses! And yes, anything fried, anything delicious, is usually bad for us. LOL!
What did you think of the latest ruling on the Dakota pipeline?

Eriu ConnieK ⋅ August 08, 2017

You never know! My brother was 48 when my niece was born, and one of my friends had a new baby when he was nearing 60.

a mote, floating August 09, 2017

What a sweet deal! That's quite a repertoire of skills, both for renovating and for swapping all those properties.

ConnieK a mote, floating ⋅ August 09, 2017

Either that, or he's a cheapskate! LOL!

Marg August 11, 2017

Property mogul in the making😊

ConnieK Marg ⋅ August 11, 2017

Good! He can take care of his aging mother when he's rich. LOL!

Marg ConnieK ⋅ August 12, 2017

Smart thinking!😆

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.