Another One Bites the Dust in Just in Case

  • Jan. 30, 2014, 9:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We went back to school today. Of course a fair number of the kids didn't. There were enough out that we couldn't go forward, but enough there to almost make it worth teaching. The day started a little stresseful. The nice co-worker called me literally 10 minutes before I walked out the door. She wanted me to call her a sub and get her room ready. I scanned the sub list to her and told her she had to find her own sub. I had to get things done for my own class, too. It was just too much. That made it a hectic start. The sub she got was the really really bad one. The day got better, though. There was still snow on the ground. (Couldn't believe that! ) It was so odd walking down the hall and seeing snow on the ground outside. So, one by one, I took all 3 classes out and let them play. I mean, come on, we're in central Louisiana. When are they going to get the chance to do that at school again? (If anyone mentions the chance of it happening again next week...well, I might get violent. lol) I finished the day out well, went and got a haircut, found out I was selected for a fairly prestigious committee, picked up Outlaws for supper....then found my mailbox face down on the ground. Son of a buck. It was broken off at the ground. That took a fairly significant hit. Coincidentally I had UPS delivery today. Other than me leaving at 6:15 am (when the box was still standing) and me getting home at 6:10 or so PM that UPS truck was the only one in my driveway. The box was hit from behind...someone coming out of my driveway. There are large tire tracks leading toward the box. It leaves little doubt that it was the UPS truck. But, when I called, dear, sweet Mark assured me that their drivers would never do that without reporting it, because that would be grounds for termination. He checked on who my driver was, and said he was their best, he even headed their safety committee. Mark called the driver who knew instantly what house it was, because he had seen the box down when he pulled up. So, Mark told me how sorry he was that it happened, but it wasn't their fault. I asked about the torn up tracks in the driveway. Driver said they were already there. So I said to Mark, " In the last 1460 days my mailbox has stood with no problem. One day out of 1460 finds it facedown, hit from behind, meaning from someone leaving my driveway. On that 1 out of 1460 days, the only vehicle, other than mine, in my driveway is your truck. You're right. Obviously it wasn't your truck. What was I thinking?" He sputtered about their image and that if was their driver they would have made it right. I asked if that meant they were going to fix it? More sputtering and well, no he said it wasn't him. I told him that their "image" was showing through bright and clear. Then I hung up. If it hadn't been dark when I pulled up, I would have taken pictures. Obviously the ground was still soft from the snow, he got off the edge of my driveway and had trouble getting out. When he finally did, he clipped my box. It was an accident. I have no doublt, But, it was caused by them and they should step up and pay it. Instead, I will got buy one and figure out how the heck to get the thing planted when I have one tiny shovel.
Accidents happen all the time. That part doesn't bother me. It's the not stepping up and admitting the accident. That irritates the pure D hell out of me. Oh and to add to the frustration, I called the Post Office customer support. Literally 14 minutes after I started I finally convinced the computer to send me to a person. I turned the speaker on after I was on hold a while and ate supper. I was on hold for over 25 minutes (customer support is open until 8 pm) suddenly...I was cut off. At that point all I could do was laugh. I'll try and call the local post office tomorrow. Lord give me strength (and chocolate).


terriberri January 31, 2014

lol...you can get strength from the lord, but i'm not sure he sends chocolate. then again...He can do anything!

Small Town Girl February 02, 2014

O wow yes they should pay for it!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.