Two Pennies Please! in A New Beginning

  • Aug. 4, 2017, 3:45 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Man oh man! For the last couple or three paydays, it’s been so tight that it seemed like I couldn’t even get ahold of two pennies to rub together! That would not have been the case had we not made those big plans to go to the quite expensive event we attended last weekend (the one we could only stay for half of). I think that’s really the first time we ever decided to do something that was going to cost a lot, all spur-of-the-moment like that. I think this was a sign that doing that is not a good tactic for us! ;o) Anyhow, I am EXTREMELY happy to say that THIS payday we are not scrambling to set aside money for anything, so once again we will have some extra pennies! At least two, probably a few more!

Today I did a little feng shui in our house. I have had a poor dwarfish poinsettia plant that has set on my living room plant table for three years. It stays green, and I realize that they don’t get their colorful leaves unless you give them the right conditions. But it hasn’t grown, and I’ve just had a feeling that that little plant is about as tired of being in that pot, in my house, as a plant could ever be. I should’ve planted it outside months ago, but I can put off some very simple tasks almost FOREVER, so I hadn’t. But finally, today I did. I planted it outdoors with the marigolds and squash. It won’t live after frost-time, but that’s a ways off. It will probably do well until then, and then it can die a natural death. I also threw out a small pot of dirt that I thought MIGHT grow an African violet, but finally gave up on. Hey, pots of dirt are like LIFE; sometimes you just have to admit that certain things are never going to bear you any fruit. ;o) I now have room for another houseplant of some kind. I’m sortuv in the “gee, less is good!” mood though, so perhaps I’ll just stick with the one Christmas cactus I have had for many years and call it good.

Sooooo, now it is less than two weeks until I FINALLY get my injection. So now I begin this little process of fretting that something might go wrong and cause me to have to postpone it. There’s this rule that one cannot take anti-biotics within two weeks before or after getting an injection. In the cold months I worry that I’ll come down with bronchitis or something! No worry about that in August, but instead I’m worrying that I’ll get some kind of itch that ends up requiring an anti-biotic!! And why would I be worried about that dumb thing anyway????!!!! Because that has only ever happened to me one time, ever. It’s my niece Stef’s fault!! She had had some kind of horrible itching affliction for the past month, and has been to four doctors/clinics so far, trying to get something that helps!!!!! So now anytime anything about me itches, I think, “OMG! Is it like what Stef has?????”
And what pisses me off is, all my life I have never been a hypochondriac or a worrier. But these pain shots really MATTER to me. sigh I’m not saying that nothing else has ever mattered to me before....just that by the time I GET to another injection, I am damn well ready to have one! I am READY for relief! I don’t want to have to postpone the damn thing!

God, my entries bore me to death sometimes. But ya know what, I am very glad to be back here, writing regularly again. I like being in touch with some good friends here, that I hadn’t other ways of being in close touch with. And I’ve met a few new friends here too! I think sometimes it’s not so much a matter of it always being exciting, but just a matter of writing it and putting it out there. Like it used to be with snailmail letters, ya know? Do any of you still write or receive snailmail letters? In the pre-computer days, I was an avid letter-writer. From what people said, my letters were always fabulous. I was raising the kids; we were living in interesting places while Joe was in the military; we raised some farm animals when we first bought this place, etc. Sometimes I got sad because I’d have to wait AGES for people to write me back! I guess they thought they had to wait ‘til they had something “interesting” to write. But really? I just wanted to get a letter. No matter what it said, I would’ve been happy to get a letter!

I have been up and down all night. Now it’s almost 6 a.m. and I’m going to take a shower and go back to bed! :o)


GypsyWynd August 04, 2017

I used to write snailmail. I even had a penpal in England from the time I was 9 til I graduated college. She and I lost touch, but our mothers are still writing to each other.
I have a friend from high school that I reconnevted with several years ago. We mainly email, but now and again we snail mail. I miss letter writing, even thoght my handwriting has gotten bad lately.

thesunnyabyss August 04, 2017

I can imagine you would write fabulous letters, you write fabulous entries here,

I worry about things like that too, not that it ever does me any good, lol,

have a great weekend!!!

Deleted user August 04, 2017

Getting rid of dead plants and clutter is an excellent feng shui boost!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.