On the road again. in Hello.

  • Aug. 1, 2017, 4:24 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Rob has moved house. He’s moved to a remote village called Shap about 9 miles away from his work. His manager is coinciding his shifts with a driver as there are no buses. While I’m not entirely happy as it’s even further away than before, he seems really happy. The house is lovely, newly renovated and big. Beautiful big garden and conservatory. Large sitting room and a house kitten!
He’s still working hard at his job and he contacts me every day, usually it’s a video of the kitten at 2 am! But I’m glad he’s doing it because part of his road to recovery was not to isolate himself. He hasn’t forgotten! I just wish he was closer, that’s all.

We’re going on holiday in just over a week, yippee! I’m getting really excited now. Even though we’re going to be pretty skint for various reasons, I’m sure we can find plenty to do on a budget. The only thing I’m determined to do, (and it’s not cheap!) is to visit Bamburgh castle. It has a poison garden! Plus the beach looks wonderful.

I’m not sure how I’ll get on eating vegan while we are self catering. There are a lot of dried staples in my cupboard at home! I’ve decided if it’s going to be too much of a struggle, I’ll eat vegetarian. Or maybe boil up some batches of pulses to take because you’ve to soak them overnight before you boil them. (Grains too! I didn’t know that before. Brown rice cooks so much quicker and tastes nicer if you soak it before.) John is really on board now, it’s lovely! On Sunday he made bean chilli and we had it with tacos, flat breads, salad and roast peppers. The kids loved it too!

I’ve just dyed Bel’s hair purple. I think she’s a bit disappointed because it’s not as vibrant as it is on the box. But I didn’t want to bleach it first. I think I might go ginger before I go on holiday. I bought some henna months ago.


Bomb Shell August 02, 2017

Rob moves house more often than I do! How come he's moved so far away from work when he doesn't drive? Does he live with anyone?

I would have thought Bel's hair would take colour quite easily as she's already blonde. Do you have a photo?

Lucretia August 07, 2017

Isn't Shap always two meters under snow in winter? Nice place though.

Great that John's getting into veganism too, so much easier when there's two of you x

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.