Yearning for escape in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Aug. 1, 2017, 1:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s been two months now since I retired and yet I really can’t go anywhere or plan anything ambitious in the way of extended road trips and travel. My caregiving duties are now all concentrated here at home. I’m free from the anxiety of worrying about Mom while at work, but at home now her dementia is getting worse and I see no way out. I was up several times last night with her. I’m always on call, it seems. I don’t want to place her anywhere. I can’t imagine her not in her home.

She has out of the blue horrible, paranoid dementia episodes sometimes late at night or before going to bed that just about drive me over the edge, but then in the morning and all the next day she’s sweet and loving and so grateful for everything we do for her. She recognizes me, but it’s getting closer to the point where she’s not going to know who I am. She’s constantly asking me, “Who are you?” She often confuses me with her long deceased husband. That was unnerving at first, but I’m becoming accustomed to it now. It’s amazing what you must get accustomed to when around a loved one with dementia. She still greatly loves looking out the tall windows to see the crepe myrtles in her garden and the blue skies and puffy clouds on these hot summer days. She so enjoys the cut flowers we always have in the den for her to look at. So, I can take my cherished 3-6 hour day trips away from Charleston or shorter visits to the parks where I can walk and relax amid the natural beauty I love so much at those places. It’s amazing what getting away for just a couple of hours does. I feel briefly rejuvenated.

But despite the fact that we have caregivers and I can get away by myself or spend time puttering upstairs or relaxing and reading for long hours on the porch, I still feel a growing sense of confinement, of limitation, of loss of freedom. How many times do I look out to the street where many people pass by on the sidewalks since we are close to downtown and King Street. I feel like saying to them, “Wake up, do you even begin to realize how lucky you are to be able to walk anywhere, go anywhere you want, whenever you want?” I am so envious. But again, I don’t know any way of life now but this. Be assured, I am always grateful for the respite time I have, but it’s always fleeting and of short duration. It ends so quickly. I’m always looking at my watch, for the stroke of midnight is never far off.

I have some photos on the night table next to my bed of wide open spaces out west in eastern Oregon and southwest Wyoming taken decades ago when I was unemployed and between jobs and always traveling or driving somewhere it seems. The great drawback was that I had no job security, no place to call home permanently, and a feeling of being constantly adrift. The flip side of the coin was the most incredible, exciting feelings of freedom and possibility, all up the road somewhere, either literally or figuratively.

Here are three scenes from travels in the 80s and early 90s that symbolize that freedom. I often look at them and dream of days when I can hit the open highways again and play that favorite song of Willie Nelson’s “On the Road Again.” Ah, dreams....

Ham’s Fork River, southwestern Wyoming, 1984. I love those desert rivers that come down to the high plains from high up in mountains in the distance. Ribbons of blue in the desert.

Ham's Fork

The following photos are from a long weekend trip to eastern Oregon in 1992. Theses are of photos so the quality is not the best, but the main thing is to convey the feeling. Note the empty buildings, the sagebrush, a solitary hiker, and t he empty roads. The white car along the road is my trusty Nissan Sentra.

Oregon road 2

Oregon road


Deleted user August 01, 2017

Beautiful photos!

Oswego Deleted user ⋅ August 03, 2017

Thank you!

woman in the moon August 01, 2017

Maybe if you could develop a daily ritual, a walk perhaps, that you did every day with pleasant places to go, to see, to experience, maybe with a coffee or a beer at the turn around place. Something to look forward to, something to reflect on after it was over. That might help you.

woman in the moon August 01, 2017

You could come here every day too, and post a picture and leave us a few words. We would be glad to have you with us.

Deleted user August 01, 2017

Please come here every day ! We would love it !

ODSago August 01, 2017

What to say? The photos are remarkable, especially given the closed vistas in which many of us live our lives -- I tend to forget any other way to live. When we first moved to FL, bought a house with a neighbor close by...etc. the first time we drove out to the Disney area which then was a drive through acres of flat land, open land...I burst into tears. I didn't even know I yearning for that open vista. I think you might feel that way when you are able to revisit some of the dear places that you are remembering in the free and exciting period of your life. I'd love for you to join a support group, even if it is one on line. You do need less isolation and more understanding as you live in that puzzle which surrounds your mother, ever changing and yet ever the same. I really don't believe in heaven but should I be wrong there will be a crown with jewels awaiting you someday and a mother who understands all and can't believe and yet treasures rightly the love you've shown her over these years. If heaven exists and I get there first somehow....I'm going to find her and share all of this with her--what a joy that would be.

Eriu August 01, 2017

You've borne all the responsibility for a long time; no wonder it's getting to you. Maybe you can't take long road trips right now but is there respite care for adults (like there is for foster kids) that might allow you to take long weekends here and there?

Newzlady August 03, 2017

It's one of life's phases, and it's been a long one for you. Don't be afraid to vent when you need to and ask for help when you need it.

Marg August 04, 2017

We never really realise how lucky we are in our abilities and freedom until that very freedom is restricted or taken away.

You've been dealing with this for a long time now but your freedom will come one day. And with it the knowledge that every second of it will be so precious and very well-earned!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.