Off the handle! in A New Beginning

  • July 29, 2017, 6:01 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

In an hour or so, Joe and I will be dropping Guinness off at the boarding place and heading upstate to attend a weekend-long intensive workshop taught by Christopher Penczak, a well-known esoteric Teacher. I had been looking forward to this weekend, but it’s going to be quite a damn challenge since my fuckin’ sciatica is flaring up just about as angry as hell. I committed the sin of going out and doing things two days in a row this week; that’s why. Wednesday my Sis and I went hiking at Prime Hook Wildlife Refuge. It wasn’t the hiking that hurt me, but the time spent on my ass going to and fro, plus having lunch. It’s only about 40 minutes away, but my ass and leg can’t do that right now. sigh
And then the next day I went over to visit Wendy. And of course, when one goes to visit, one has coffee and lunch and they sit and they gab. I had a good time, but alas, once again it was too much ass-time. I was miserable two nights in a row! I spent yesterday at home, trying to make my ass and leg happy! And they were pretty happy, once I got them to settle down. But I still had a crappy night! I was NOT in pain at least, but I’ll be damn if I could sleep! I slept for three frickin’ hours. And now we’re heading off to an INTENSIVE esoteric workshop, 9-5 both days! At least Christopher is entertaining and uses words I can understand! Ha!
Anyhow, I am bound to feel alright for some of the weekend anyway, and I will enjoy that part! It’s at a Sheraton Inn, so we will have a nice room and eat good food. There’s a catered lunch and snacks both days! There is a pool and a gym. If I get sore, maybe I can go to the gym and walk on the treadmill. I’ve never used a gym in a hotel before; I wonder if you have to pay extra????? Because the room costs enough; you shouldn’t!!
Yesterday I wrote an entry about my friend Wendy. I wrote that I suspect her of lying about some things. What I did not tell was that Wendy DID suffer a major head/brain injury in a car accident, the year before I met her. Joe reminds me of that sometimes. I wasn’t in her life when the accident happened, but other people I know were. So it really did happen! ;o) It was a hit-and-run. Her car was thrown into a cornfield; she was thrown from the car and left to die. But a farmer came along and saw her car. She had amnesia for more than six months afterward, and actually you can’t specify a time when amnesia stops, because it was a long time before she could drive herself places and remember how to get home (or why she drove there in the first place) or go to any kind of social event and not suffer a memory lapse while there, suddenly not remembering who the people were or where she was. She explained to me once that she learned to cover it up by pretending everything was alright....by acting like nothing was wrong, so people wouldn’t think she was crazy.
I need to remember that. I have NEVER had that experience. Not many people have. She had to be very strong to get through that and to get her life back.
Soooooo, ya know, I don’t know if she has really been taking college classes or not. But I know what an awesome painter she is! I know that in her poetry and song, she paints pictures with words. I know her husband and three adult kids; they are all such nice people. I know she is an awesome nana to her little granddaughter Alice. It’s true that her life in many ways is the craziest mess I’ve ever seen, but hell, maybe I just haven’t seen much! I feel bad for having written badly about her. But at the same time....whatever, I AM human and sometimes I suck! ;o)
Joe is in the shower now and I’m giving Guinness a little breakfie. I should post this now and go get dressed!


woman in the moon July 29, 2017

Have fun at your weekend. I don't think you pay extra to use the gym at a hotel. Best treadmill I was ever on was at hotel.
Wendy's accident no doubt still affects her - but still you have to deal with her - and you are kind to be her friend.

thesunnyabyss July 30, 2017

gyms are including usually, maybe a hot tub would help if they have one,

I think I saw something on Facebook saying you came home already, sorry to hear that,

big hugs, feel better

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.