Where Did the Time Go? in Just in Case

  • July 25, 2017, 8:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I went school clothes shopping with my mom and Cbaby. I will say, shopping with Cbaby is so much easier than with Tootie. Cbaby is about getting it done. Tootie would shop in 10 store and then go back to the first store to get it. She also was awful at being honest about things you picked out. She’d never say she didn’t like them, she’d just hang them in her closet and never touch them. That got frustrating and expensive. Cbaby would never want to hurt someone’s feelings, but she’d also never want to waste money. So when we showed her things that she didn’t like, she was honest. (Well as honest as she could be and still try not to hurt our feelings, lol, it went something like, “Oh, yeah, well, it’s ok, I mean it’s sort of cute, ya know, it’s not bad, I mean..” eventually we’d laugh and take pity on her and put the objectionable object back. Most of the stuff she got was cute. There’s one skirt that I’m shocked at. (Sort of grandmotherly to me, but it’s her choice, lol.)
Then the worst thing possible happened. She wanted to go into Hot Topic to get a couple of tshirts. My mom had sat down outside of Penney’s for a few minutes to rest her back, so it was just Cbaby and I. As we walked up to the store she stopped and sort of smiled at me and said, “Ya know, Sissy, you could sit out here and wait.” She cruised on in while I stood there stunned. When did my sweet little Cbaby turn into a teenager who was embarrassed to shop with me??? I mean I may not know who one of the bands was that she wanted a shirt from (Seriously??? 5 Finger Death Punch??? At least back in the 80s we had bands with decent names for our parents to roll their eyes at! And they were good bands! Duran Duran, Poison, Bon Jovi, Wham…) I sat there and stewed for a few minutes, remembering her sweet childhood, and she came out. She was so proud of herself for shopping on her own. lol I couldn’t really get upset. She had even bought me a cute pin. (And, ok, so I also was reminded by my mom that at Cbaby’s age she was dropping my friends and I off at the mall by ourselves because we refused to shop with our parents.)
I’m so proud of the young woman she’s become, but deep inside my heart there’s a crack. When did she go from this:

to this?


terriberri July 25, 2017

In the blink of an eye. It happens so fast. I struggle with it...lol.

Deleted user July 29, 2017

Time never waits :(

Small Town Girl July 29, 2017

It goes so fast! She is a gorgeous young lady!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.