Another Day in Just in Case

  • July 21, 2017, 11:18 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The work in my classroom continues. I’ve got pretty much everything put away, other than things that hang on the wall. It always takes time after painting to get those to stay on the wall. For the posters and such, that’s frustrating, but not a huge deal. For the picture frames, though - that can get expensive. I have a few supplies left to put at the tables, then it’s time to start working on curriculum. We have a few new teachers at our school. One taught at the Defense Department STEM program that I took students to last year. She’s a great lady, but she’s never taught 2nd grade before. So J and I are going to meet with her Monday and try to get her room set up. (J goes to church with her.)
I spent some time with friends yesterday, including trying a local restaurant that does made to order fire cooked pizzas. (Ah mazing!!) I made a chicken alfredo pizza with bacon. So good! I am not one to share my political views with - well - anyone. But with some of the changes that have been put in place there are have been detrimental changes to programs such as the EPA. In the past, funding from the EPA has supported some of the educational programs that I volunteer with. While we were out, we found out that one of the amazing people we work with may lose their job because the EPA said they were spending too much money on environmental education and they were making massive cuts. That makes sense - right? Who needs to educate children about the damages to our environment? Clean water? Who cares? Clean air? Don’t bother telling them about it. We have a floating island of garbage the size of Texas in the Pacific. We have a dead zone off the state of Louisiana that is larger than it’s ever been. Pieces of the polar ice caps are breaking off. But who needs education - right? I’m sorry, I’m just still flabbergasted by the entire thing.


terriberri July 22, 2017

i am flabbergasted just reading. i don't get any of this. and i am not sure i ever will. ugh. sigh.

Deleted user July 22, 2017

That is disgusting and sad.

Small Town Girl July 23, 2017

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.