Darrem Charles - 2016 in FILM / THEATRE / VIDEO WORK & CORPSE NATION

  • July 20, 2017, 6:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Being unable to work due to poor health has depressed me something wicked. I love what I do, I love creating and making clients happy. It doesn’t always pay well and it’s a high stress thing that I do, but it’s the kind of stress I thrive on.

The last gig that I was able to do, I did while my health was in steep decline. I had to cut back on my work hours starting in November of 2015, by the time April, 2016 rolled around, I was in really bad shape, but I kept pushing myself to keep working because I lived paycheck to paycheck… and I needed that next paycheck!

I was put in touch with a guy named Darrem Charles (you may be familiar with him) He’s a professional bodybuilder. At 48 years young, he was looking to come out of his semi-retirement and compete once again followed by an all new training video (that was my job).

This gig lasted from April - August 2016 (largely due to the complexity of editing). I can’t post the entire piece of course, it’s 1hr 7 mins long, but I can share the 1 min teaser that I cut together. here’s a few bts (behind the scenes shots I took between takes).

What’s a few more plates?
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

A mere fraction of the awards and trophies he has at home.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

In the gym…
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

When I first starting editing, I had to go through 9+ hours of footage, multiple cameras and select the best shots from each before I could even make the first cut, that alone took several days.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

This was filmed with one of my film production partners Fernando and a professional sports photographer and good friend of mine Anthony. I also filmed and edited the entire piece which went on sale in Sept 2016 (while I was in the hospital due to complications of my health) at the Mr. Olympia competition.

At any rate, this was the last gig I had before my health became so poor I was unable to take on anything else. I am pleased to report that Darrem is extremely happy with the video and I’m really glad I was chosen to do it. Darrem is a great guy, we got along well and overall it was an awesome experience! I don’t know how many he’s sold, since its completion, I don’t get a percentage of course, nor have I heard much from him lately, but he’s been busy!

Darrem’s competitions since I met him.

2016 Pittsburgh Pro, IFBB Pro Classic Physique (2nd)
2016 New York Pro, IFBB Men’s Classic Physique (2nd)
2016 Miami Muscle Beach, IFBB Men’s Classic Physique (1st)
2016 Puerto Rico Pro, IFBB Pro Classic Men Physique (1st)
2016 Toronto Pro, IFBB Pro Classic Men Physique (1st)
2016 Wings of Strength Chicago Pro, IFBB Pro Classic Men Physique (1st)
2016 IFBB Wings of Strength Tampa Pro (2nd)
2016 IFBB Olympia - Mens Physique Classic (5th)
2017 IFBB Karina Nascimento Pro (1st)

He’s just about to turn 49 years old!

Hard work, passion and the unwavering pursuit of what you love will keep you going strong.

For me, that’s working full time once again and being able to support myself and help support my family because they need financial support themselves, especially my mom since her major stroke, not a financial burden which I have become.

Sorry, I know that’s negative, I’m fighting the depression really hard right now. honestly, I just wanted to focus on the positive aspect of working.


Last updated July 20, 2017


Shattered July 20, 2017

You WILL get there again. Keep your eye on the prize and don't lose sight of your goal.

Marg July 21, 2017

Great job! Don't worry about being negative - this is a place where you can let it all out. Life is so damned unfair sometimes. And then some.

HalloweenValentine July 21, 2017

nice work. I can only imagine how time consuming editing is. But I bet you will be back at it soon. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.