"SPRING" Semester begins in the snow in Tea at the Cabin in the Woods

  • Jan. 30, 2014, 2:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I only have a few minutes before heading out to my next class but I thought I should get this thing going since all my other stuff is now gone... Eight years of writing lost in cyber space. Well, so it goes.

We, as much as the rest of the USA have a grand base of snow remaining and are expected to have even more come Sat. morning. Walking to classes takes less time since I walk a lot faster when I am freezing - but the patches of ice tend to be a hazard. I am getting really good at knowing where the ice patches are and how to avoid them. It is my desire to learn how to harness the cold to keep it ready when July and August arrive. This could save on the electric bill in the summer months... Hummm... can we say Engineering Student project? I should ask about that.

So this semester is going to be full of field trips, guest speakers and service projects. I have spoken to so many people and made a lot of arrangements I just hope it all works out. Our work-study student is my advisee and I have her doing a lot of research for the Community Mental Health course - since I am not using a text book this year. Somehow it only seem appropriate to use more recent research and journal articles than text book material which is usually 2 years old before it ever gets to the classroom. Maybe I am a snob about it? Who cares, it gives her something to do when I am the only one in the office on Thurs. and I can only have so much filing and copying for her.

Well, it's time to layer up to run across campus and get the class going on adolescent development! Yippee!!! Ha, I love my students and they are great for keeping me on track and up-dated to the latest lingo... Or should I say in translating what others are attempting to say? I have a great story to share later about Christmas in my New England town.

See ya!


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.