Spending Money in Day by Day

  • July 21, 2017, 3:48 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Okay, Cibos is bored, so here’s my post:

I’ve been spending money lately. I splurged on some tech-y things: a turntable, a tablet, a 4 port/3 socket car cigarette lighter socket splitter adapter, and, my most exciting purchase, a rocketbook! If you’re interested, you can check it out here. Best of all, I got it for $20 in the Amazon Prime sale. I didn’t stop there. Travelocity tempted me and I ended up buying tickets to Fort Wayne, IN to see my sis-in-law, so now I have a fun trip to look forward to at the end of August.

I need the break. As I was sweeping yesterday, I moved a chair and noticed what I thought at first was a bit of black string, sort of tied in a knot. Upon closer inspection, I saw that it was the tiniest baby black snake I’d ever seen. It was so small it could have wiggled in under a door, I suppose. I DO hope that there is not a mama black snake in my house!

In other stress, my blood test results came back. My liver and kidneys look fine, but they think my blood sugar is up (103, the threshold is 99), but when I looked at the numbers from last time, it’s down from 107! Now I have to go in for a hemoglobin A/C test. Oh, and they want another look at my Vitamin D levels. They know I go on Medicare in two months. They’re smelling blood in the water. I dislike all things medical. They always want to tell you gross stuff and stick sharp things in you. God gave us skin to cover that mess up.

Did I tell you we’ve been adopted by a stray kitty-cat? We named her Kitty Cat. I’ve been very gentle with her because she’s skittish. I finally got her to come inside (took two months), which is good. She is obviously feral and I need to take her to a vet but hate to traumatize her with a cat carrier.

We really hadn’t planned on having a pet in retirement. After Ferocious died (he was really a big baby but thought he was ferocious), it was just too painful to replace him. Kitty Cat just started hanging around. We chased her off at first, but she kept coming back and she was so painfully thin, we caved and fed her, so it really is our fault.

She’s the first thing that has given me true joy since Nick died. I feel like we needed her as much as she needed us. All she wants is love. And ear scratches. If I stop too soon, she gets up on her hind legs and bats at my hand with her paw and it makes me laugh.

I told my husband we’re the stereo-typical gray-haired couple, adopted by a stray cat, but she’s crawled into our hearts and there she will stay. I need to get her shots, spayed, and tested for feline leukemia, heart worms, etc. I am definitely crazy for taking on an expense like this, but it’s too late now.


Shattered July 21, 2017

Everyone needs a treat now and then! I'm glad Kitty Cat has found you to help heal your heart.

ConnieK Shattered ⋅ July 21, 2017

Thanks. I'm glad, too. She makes me smile.

Eriu July 21, 2017

Congrats on being adopted! Kitty Cat can also keep the house clear of those "black strings" - I shudder to think about that, but baby snakes are incredibly tiny (I thought someone tracked in a blade of grass UNTIL IT MOVED). Thank you for taking her in!

ConnieK Eriu ⋅ July 21, 2017

I'd have had a heart attack if it had moved!

QueenSuzu July 21, 2017

Aww, I am all teary-eyed about kitty cat and yes, you needed each other. Horrible, horrible about the snake, baby or not, shudder, shudder. I shop and buy when stressed but the last time I went shopping nothing tempted me! I think I was delirious probably😂😂.

ConnieK QueenSuzu ⋅ July 21, 2017

I'll go shopping with you and break your delirium. LOL! Yes, even though the snake was dead, I still got creeped out.

QueenSuzu ConnieK ⋅ July 22, 2017

Ha! Can you fly up? Think I will try the outlets over the weekend. If not, there is always amazon---ohh, or Barnes and nobles, think I have a coupon, yes that just might be the ticket and Jeff would do that. But you could still fly up......

ConnieK QueenSuzu ⋅ July 22, 2017

Outlets exhaust me. Let's go to your fun shopping district or a museum...B&N is good, too! :)

QueenSuzu ConnieK ⋅ July 22, 2017

The outlet I go to isn't huge and I only go into two or three of,the shops.

a mote, floating July 21, 2017

I'm so glad Kitty Cat found you. <3
I feel bad for the snake. We've found a couple of Brahminy blind snakes in the house. They're tiny and non-venomous -- also all female and parthenogenic, so cool. :-)
Have fun with the new toys -- and the trip!

ConnieK a mote, floating ⋅ July 21, 2017

I have no pity for snakes, no matter how small. LOL!

mcbee July 22, 2017

I just heard somewhere that when a cat sits on you and purrs it actually stimulates the endorphins (or something like that) and gives natural pain relief, lower blood pressure, etc. I believe it, there is something so soothing about a purring cat.

ConnieK mcbee ⋅ July 22, 2017

When she starts purring, I start smiling. Thanks for your note. :)

Chic Chat July 22, 2017

I got my two kitties when I was going through my divorce stuff. They were sometimes the only thing that got me through the long days and trying times. Definitely can't imagine my life without them. They really are the best compaions.

ConnieK Chic Chat ⋅ July 22, 2017

One kitty is enough for me, but yes, they are healing. :)

Marg July 24, 2017

Sounds like someone chose someone! I remember our first cat, Jamie, coming into our lives like that and realising it was helping me bigtime with my depression.

ConnieK Marg ⋅ July 25, 2017

She certainly brings a smile to my face, but I suspect she is pregnant, which I do NOT want!

Marg ConnieK ⋅ July 25, 2017

Oh no! I'll keep my fingers crossed she's not. We've just been through that with Ivy, Nikki's new cat (the older of the 3) - thought she was pregnant as well but it turned out to be a false alarm. Thank goodness!

GypsyWynd July 26, 2017

Kitty Cat is meant to be with you.

ConnieK GypsyWynd ⋅ July 26, 2017

We're taking her to the vet tomorrow and will know then. Being feral, she could very well have heart worms or feline leukemia.

Lola Falana August 05, 2017

Kitteh ( that is how I say kitty kind of valley girl )Kat is a gift. Just like everything else. Unexpected.

ConnieK Lola Falana ⋅ August 06, 2017

Yes. She makes me smile. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.