TWO in one summer! woot! in A New Beginning

  • July 21, 2017, 4:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have broken my several-years-long reading fast! Yaaaaaaay!!!!!!! I just finished my second book of the summer. I’m not in competition with anyone but myself, and that is a lot more than I’ve managed to read in 3-4 years, so I am proud of myself! :o) This last book was a novel by Sue Monk Kidd, “The Invention of Wings.” It was QUITE long, but good. At times, even though I was reading every day, I was starting to feel like I would N-E-V-E-R get to the end, and was tempted to just not finish it, but I persevered and today I got to the end! It left me wanting to know more about what happened in the characters’ lives after the book ended.

Man it is hot here. I think it’s hot just about everywhere in the United States; maybe even parts of Alaska are hot…WHO KNOWS?? This week there hasn’t even been much of a breeze to stir the hot heavy air. And the lawns are getting crispy. It would be nice if we’d start getting more rain soon.

I never wrote about our Sunday, and going over to our son Joey’s and his girlfriend Stephanie’s for dinner. We have been thoroughly delighted with their relationship from the very start. They are both 30 now, and have known each other since high school. She used to phone him quite often when they were in high school, but he always said they were just friends. He had a lot of “girls who were just friends” because he’s a genuinely nice guy, a good listener, etc. But I remember asking him a few times back then, “Why don’t you go with Stephanie?” Not much; I never was the kind of mom to push things like that, but I was just curious. Now they just seem to have been made for each other.

They are renting a single-wide mobile home, aka trailer, that is in a really pretty rural setting even though it’s just a little ways off the highway. It’s older, but in pretty good shape. They’ve done it up all pretty and nice. :o) It has a good bit of lawn, and a big detached garage, plus a second trailer behind it. There was a woman living in that trailer, but she has moved out and now Stephanie’s mom lives in it! I was so glad to hear that, because Stephanie’s mom is pretty bad off physically and needs a good bit of help. She has fibromyalgia plus has a bad neck/back injury that happened where she worked, so now she’s on disability. She has to use a walker and sometimes a wheelchair and she is only 58, a year younger than I am. She has three older kids, but she and Stephanie are the two who are closest....like me and my mom were, or like Carrie and I were. I know that having her mom living so close makes them very happy and it’s obvious how fond Connie (Stephanie’s mom) is of Joey. She is very nice; it was fun visiting with her. I count her as friend and family.

(continued next morning) More about the Past Lives workshop I attended last weekend (which nearly did me in, with all the sitting)… I noticed that I seemed to be the only one who had rather ordinary, mundane memories. I think some of my compadres really want to have been very exciting, important people. And I have no doubt that a lot of us were, at least in a life or two. Maybe not history book famous, but at least important or influential on a more local level. I mean, sure, we might have had a hundred or more past lives! But one woman…and she IS a good friend of mine....reported that in her regression she had been the librarian at the library in ancient Alexandria, Egypt....the one that got burned, thus destroying allllllllllllllll the sacred knowledge of the ancient world up to that point. (Our tradition, the ASW, has built The New Alexandrian Library here in Delaware; this has been our group’s main Work for the past 20 years!) So, y’know, how coincidental that Lindsay just happened to remember her past life of being head director of the original one, when THE BIG FIRE HAPPENED no less. But I know Lindsey. And I’m not gonna say “I know she wasn’t that”.....cuz I mean, SOMEBODY was that. That really did occur. But mostly I think, in her heart and maybe in her soul she would’ve liked to have been that. She told us that in her vision, she was running desperately back and forth trying to save at least some of the scrolls. I’m sure she WOULD’VE been. But I don’t like being on the side of thinking or saying “she didn’t really do that.” We have a couple of High Priests who usually act like NOBODY could possibly have had a particular experience if THEY didn’t have it.

(Friday early morning) I went over to my bff Wendy’s yesterday for a gab fest/visit/fun day. Because it’s her birthday in two days, I decided to stop at Dunkin Donuts and get us two tall frosty cold delicious blender coffees and some donuts. I also got her a Dunkin Donuts gift card. Well, diggety-damn! Imagine my surprise when I got to her house and found the table already set with two tall frosty cold delicious blender coffees and some donuts!! :oO !! We resolved to be more coordinated in deciding what to bring, the next time!

Well, it’s taken me halfway through the darn week to write this, so I’m gonna post it now.


thesunnyabyss July 21, 2017

too funny you both had drinks and donuts ready, lol, Happy Birthday to Wendy!!!!

I'd like to do a past life regression, how interesting,

and yay for two books, I really should start reading again, you are inspiring me!!!

I'm so glad to hear Joey has found his somebody, and that they can help out her Mom so much,

have a great day and weekend!!!!

woman in the moon July 22, 2017

Yes, lots of happy, good stuff in this entry.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.