Grumpety. in A New Beginning

  • July 19, 2017, 1:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Okay, sooooo, I am a bit grouchy today but I don’t really care. I am frickin’ sore, and pissed about it. I can’t really say that I’m pissed at the doctor or his receptioniest for not being able to schedule me for a shot until mid-August. That just IS what it IS. No one is supposed to have these cortizone-steroid injections more than four times a year. And I am just fortunate that we have good insurance and I CAN get them. I guess I’m just pissed that I have this damn spinal stenosis. It’s no one’s fault. Everyone gets certain problems in life, and we get what we get. My mom and brother both died of cancer in their fifties, younger than I am now. I am glad that I don’t have cancer. Can I actually even think of ANYONE whose affliction I would want to trade for mine, or simply HAVE, instead of mine? No. Some of the afflictions might look easier to deal with, but since I don’t have them, how can I know?? No one can know how anybody else feels!

I like to keep this stuff in perspective. But at the same time, I do not mind one bit, letting people know I’m sore/in pain, etc. A lot of people try to not let on. They say they don’t want people’s pity; they don’t want help; they don’t want to put anyone out or ruin anyone else’s good time, or whatever-the-hell. But I’ll tell you this much about MY dang self....if I am so damn sore that I’m gimping along like someone twenty years older, I DO NOT MIND YOUR PITY. I mean what the hell! What is pity, other than feeling sorry for a person?? I feel very sorry for people I see, who are struggling! And yea, hell, SURE, I LIKE to be helped if I could use some help! If I could use some help, and somebody helps me, that person rises extremely high in my estimation. I definitely like to help others when I can, too, and I find it quite annoying when people don’t accept help gracefully. If someone is in worse shape than I am, I will help them if I can.

But anyhow! So, yea, I was pretty grumpy much of today because I was sore, BUT ALSO BECAUSE IT IS HAWT. Oh, it is just sooooo damnably frickin’ hot. But summers in Delaware usually are, so there ya go. I am oh-so thankful to have the summer off. For five years I worked at the state park in the summertime. The job was fun....working with the public; I love that....but the being hot part wasn’t.

Today I went up to visit my sister Carol. We visited at her house for awhile and then went out to lunch. Tomorrow I’m going out to breakfast with Sister Sandy. This summer they never want to go to the beach, and it’s too hot and BUGGY to hike in any of the woodland parks. BUT WE LOVE TO GO OUT TO EAT! When we were growing up, our family NEVER went out to eat. “Going out to eat” would mean eating at a family reunion instead of at our own house! We saw fast food commercials on tv, but fast food was not a thing we had personal knowledge of! I guess we’ve been making up for it ever since we’ve been grown up!


woman in the moon July 19, 2017

I know, eating out is a luxury. Feels good. We only ate out when I was a kid when we went to city on Holy Days to shop. (Catholics had extra Sundays for various Feasts and they coincided with shopping seasons. August 15 was the Assumption for pre-school shopping. December 8 was the Immaculate Conception for Christmas shopping. January 1st would have been good for post Christmas sales but I don't think stores were open because it was a secular holiday. Anyway on those trips my dad would consent to eat at a buffet where he could see what he was going to get - wait more like a cafeteria. My mother wanted to eat at a lunch counter at a dime store.
I am fatally chatty. Sorry.
Sorry about your pain. Too bad the bike thing didn't help for a longer time. I get what you mean about not wanting to trade afflictions. Familiarity breeds content.

thesunnyabyss July 19, 2017

chronic pain sucks, so says my hip, lol, and I like pity too, especially when in a lot of pain, lol,

I grew up a little differently, we ate out with some frequency, my parents felt it was important to teach us how to behave properly in public, as opposed to behaving properly for them, lol,

I remember you State Park stories, I always enjoyed them, not that I don't enjoy your new stories about your current job, those kids sound so fantastic!

Have a lovely day!!! hugs!!!

patrisha July 24, 2017

I have had to learn to accept offered help graciously. But I have found that many people are genuinely pleased to help. I drive the cart I am using out to my car at the grocery and I am pleasantly surprised how many nice, well mannered young people ask could I use some help getting the bags into the car!

Here I am again! patrisha ⋅ July 24, 2017

I think that's awesome, Patrisha! Sometimes people just want to be given a chance to help somebody! :o)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.