The Abyss Theatre in FILM / THEATRE / VIDEO WORK & CORPSE NATION

Revised: 07/20/2017 3:16 a.m.

  • July 18, 2017, 4:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

When I lived in South Florida (and plan to go back) one of the many places I worked was at The Abyss Theatre in Wilton Manors (a part of Fort Lauderdale).

I’m friends with the owner Erynn and her goal was to have a theatre that not only incorporated video, and practical effects (sfx makeup) but to only do horror themed shows.

A promo pic I took of Erynn when she first got the theatre.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I mean, come on… I’M IN!!!

Not only do I make a great realistic looking fake blood, but I make a decent slime as well…

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Oh yes! We get messy!!!

I could do one post, but it would be better suited if I did a series of them based on some of the productions we put on.

We covered vampires, zombies, torture, possession, demons and psychological horror to name a few. We’ve also done a horror themed art gallery, acting and makeup workshops and occasionally rent out the space. The Discovery Channel filmed an episode of an upcoming series there; working with them (especially on a new show / I can’t even talk about it yet) was very cool.

This is from my favorite production (an Edgar Allan Poe) show. I had written and directed a script based on one of his pieces and here you’re looking at my main cast and I after being interviewed on the Radio.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

The theatre has undergone some major renovations, but here’s something I’m particularly proud of (mainly because it’s not something I do) but I got some advice and figured out the rest, the result was praise-worthy, it made me feel really good.

The Abyss is a black box theater. All walls, floor etc… is painted black, but for one show “Excorcism” we had to have a wooden floor or wooden looking floor, so I painted one! It was actually used for the next show as well!

Before.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

After.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I didn’t want to post anything about our shows just yet, but here’s a good shot of what the floor looked like (in action).

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Just prior to getting sick, I had written a script that Erynn wanted to co-produce with me. An 80’s themed rock n roll story with some demented twists! I was to direct the entire thing, both the theatrical and video portions. As my health rapidly declined throughout the first part of 2016, I had to inform her and the cast I brought on that the show had to be put on the back-burner. Man, that hurt, as I (and everyone was really pumped about it).

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Hopefully, it will still happen someday. After 14 revisions… I’m ready to create this monster!!! (Of course acquiring the budget for it at this point is another story....)

So there’s a brief introduction into a part of my film life and how I’ve been able to take it to theatre. It’s some of the most challenging work I’ve ever done! There’s no redo’s or reshoots when things are live, you have to work fast and efficiently, it’s tough, it’s difficult, it’s a lot of fun!


Last updated July 20, 2017


Marg July 18, 2017

You've got such talent and that floor looks really real!

Shattered July 19, 2017

That's so awesome!

HalloweenValentine July 20, 2017

Looks like a fun project. Nice job :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.