Just a ramble in Just in Case

  • July 12, 2017, 5:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was looking through some old entries to find the date of an event I knew I had written about. I never go back and read old entries, but this was about 2 years ago and I found myself strolling down memory lane. It was nice to see some of the past.
I had 2 days of professional development this week. Both a little over an hour away. So I had to get up at normal school time, where real clothes, and had to wear real shoes - all day. That’s torture! I normally get up at a pretty decent time, but in the summer, my sleep patterns are off. I end up staying up late (like 2/3 am late) and then sleeping until 8 or so.) Normally the cats will wake me before then. The first day of the PD was ok, nothing great, but helpful. The 2nd day was a waste of time. Our curriculum is changing this year. Or rather, social studies changed last year, but they gave us all the stuff with it this year. Science is completely changing this year. The state has nothing for us. The PD was ridiculous and didn’t involve us looking at the curriculum and working on it, as it should have. The worst part is, I missed my workshop that I help with every summer. I’m broken hearted over that.
I can’t get into my room until next week. They are painting my room, and doing the hallway floors, so the building is closed for the week. I’m getting antsy. Normally by now I’ve gotten my room more or less put together. I’m getting a little stressed. lol So, since I can’t work in my room, I’m spending time working on my science curriculum, finding resources, creating a timeline, etc.
Ok, I’ve rambled enough. I need to go get busy. We’re having a faculty get-together tomorrow. It’s supposed to be a pool party, but they are predicting thunderstorms, so I don’t know if they’re going to change that or not. We’re supposed to bring finger foods, so I’m making some pinwheels (ham and provolone for one and bacon/cheddar for the others) and some mini snickerdoodle muffins.
Oh - and the mower is fixed. I sent my dad a picture of what it looked like. Apparently while I was at the 2nd day of PD, he came over, fixed it, and finished mowing. it was very sweet of him, but I was really really upset after the PD yesterday. I could have used the chance to plug in some music and mow. He played with the cats, too. lol


Deleted user July 13, 2017

What a great Dad! When does your school start again ?

dream seeker Deleted user ⋅ July 13, 2017

Technically I go back on Aug 9th, but Open House is on the 8th, so I have to have my room ready by then.

Deleted user dream seeker ⋅ July 13, 2017

You guys go back early :-(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.