Does LSD have any effects other than psychological? in Buy a Ticket, Take a Ride

Revised: 09/09/2012 midnight

  • Sept. 8, 2012, 11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yes. I first think of these symptoms that are less cerebral and those over which I have least control:

  • Nausea. Sometimes I throw up. My husband tells me this has to do with the quality of manufacture. Supposedly relatively harmless nausea is what happens with less carefully made product.

  • LSD will dilate your pupils. Sometimes eyes will contract or dilate suddenly just because your mental rush switched topics. Your eyeballs will twitch. It is a little strange. LSD eye movements look like I imagine REM sleep would look like if people slept with their eyes open.

Also worth mentioning:

  • Bruxism (teeth grinding) might not be non-psychological but it is a legitimate health concern for some people who use LSD. A dental guard could be appropriate. Husband has had trouble with this in the past; He has learned to control it. Wiki says bruxism is one of the most common sleep disorders. Husband has a preexisting history of sleep disorders and bruxism.

  • LSD with other drugs. Erowid has information on LSD contra-indications, significant mentions are SSRIs and lithium.

"Non-psychological" is, for me, more complicated than you might have intended to ask about. I have other, more mysterious and uncomfortable side effects, over which I have more control than nausea and eye movements, but are ultimately some mix of an objective condition and a cerebral one. I think this is called the "body load". (not to be confused with "body high") The presence and intensity of the body load features are subject to a lot variables I am still learning about.

My regular experience of the body load includes these symptoms. It is possible that some of or all are imaginary: hot flashes, dizziness, sleep-like tremors and muscle twitches, increased sensitivity to light temperature or pain, joint and muscle soreness, excessive fidgeting, exaggerated personal ticks, dry mouth, decreased motor function, and something short of bruxism.

Manifestation of the body load is similar to a speed/stimulant rush. It is important to remember that although LSD subjectively resembles a speed rush, the actual condition of your body is not in danger. (I suppose it could cause a panic attack. Do people die of those?) Symptoms overlap with those of other psychedelics like mushrooms, and even high-quality marijuana (sativa) to a limited extent.

Depending on one's experience and tolerance it is possible that the LSD speed-like rush will legitimately feel more harsh than actual amphetamine, which is what happens to me. But in my case LSD is bland compared to the heart-pounding effects I felt on my husband's amphetamine-like narcolepsy prescription (for which I apparently have a very low tolerance. it is generally less dangerous than real speed. I do not know if it is more dangerous for me.)

In my experience LSD has the most uncomfortable speed-like effect of the psychedelics I've tried, which seems like a proof for some objective basis for body load. (by the way, mescaline/peyote is the most comfortable for me, although I have not had many opportunities to do mescaline.)

I would be very cautious when combining with other mood-altering drugs. LSD is a drug amplification drug. Even prescriptions you are familiar with and take every day can have unpredictable effects under the influence. One might want to re-consider taking anything difficult with LSD. I decided that going without my daily mood-altering drugs is a greater risk than not, but everyone is different. Do not under estimate pot. Indicas might be a safer choice than sativas. More on that later, maybe.

Erowid mentions the possibility of fugues on LSD with lithium. I am a bit suspicious of this information, but I'd hate to be a bad influence. I suspect the tripper has some control over the lithium combination and it is not necessarily dangerous. If you are interested in LSD with lithium let me know and I will ask him.

Personally, I enjoy trialing new drugs with LSD or other psychedelics, but I am not sure if I should encourage anyone to try that. I did get used to LSD before I started doing that. But I have gained valuable insight particularly in the realm of comparing ADHD stimulants. If I take stimulants it is usually after the peak of the trip.


A somewhat concerning reality is corruption of the Black Drug Market where psychedelic stimulants are sold as LSD. As far as I am aware this has never happened to me, but it is possible that I have been completely fooled into buying research chemicals.

These stimulants will share the same kind of risk as amphetamines, and they are significantly more dangerous than LSD. People with health problems may actually be in danger. Also, they are younger drugs, so there is a limited risk of the unknown. However psychedelic stimulants are probably not dangerous for most people especially in this context where it is a trip and not a daily dose.

I do not take my ADHD prescription stimulant (Vyvanse) before tripping. If I were more worried I might also cut out my stimulant alternatives, Strattera and Wellbutrin.

Realistically I will probably not be in much danger by stacking research stimulants with Vyvanse unless I am dehydrated and persistently exerting myself in a warm and crowded enviroment such as a party. When it comes to death by stimulant many people die of exhaustion before they die of poisoning or side effects.

Many research chemicals, especially those sold as LSD, are good trips, and sought out for themselves by trippers. I am probably going to try one soon, actually. These drugs are more profitable than LSD, which can be expensive to make.


Last updated August 21, 2014


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.