Chik-Fil-A, gay stereotypes in Talk Radio

Revised: 08/01/2012 6 a.m.

  • Aug. 1, 2012, 5 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am also interested in reading your children and/or boyfriends but I really enjoy seeing another topic dominating my Bookmarks, especially when it comes to politics, which is what personally inspires me. (I even try to practice a little affirmative action in my reading but there just aren’t enough wackos like “DEMOCRATS DEVASTATED” Ashleigh bin Field on OD.) I have a hard time not being an asshole to people who try to tell me they hate politics, because this usually means that they are actually intimidated by politics, which gives me a powerful urge to intimidate them with politics. (I am a bit of a troll by nature.) Since I write about politics frequently I am always getting notes from people who like to say they hate politics and/or totally ignore it, but my opinion is that this usually a lie we tell ourselves because we are trying to isolate ourselves from the potentially devastating effects of public opinion and political turmoil. Staying out of it makes us feel safer from the influence of insane maniacs like Glenn Beck on the radio.

If you are gay, Chik-Fil-A might be hard to completely ignore. I was mostly ignoring it but maybe that is because I am not oppressed enough as a married bisexual woman. I am not taking the boycott against Chik-Fil-A very seriously, in fact, maybe next time I’m out I’ll go eat there just to be contrary. Gay people don’t tend to take me seriously, maybe this is my bitter revenge. What is it about Chik-Fil-A that is so intimidating? If I start boycotting anything I am boycotting somebody like Wal-Mart first. Chick-Fil-A is not a sweatshop so ethically they are ahead of much if not most of the stuff we buy.

There are many reasons why Conservatives judge gay people; A lot of those reasons have nothing to do with the premise of homosexuality and everything to do with the stereotype we have invented for gay people. Like many stereotypes, it is based on a set of expectations that are often embraced. I don’t like that so many people embrace those stereotypes, I think it unrealistic and caused by herd mentality (WAKE UP SHEEPLE~). All of Ancient Greece did not have a gay gene and all gay people do not have genes for whatever idiosyncrasies they are stuck living with. I believe this has happened because coming out of the closet is frequently a traumatic experience rendering anyone incredibly vulnerable against peer pressure from a few social deviants who are still willing to accept you. It is tragic and unfair that oppression has coupled being a homosexual and being a freak, but this is what has happened.

Politics is driven by compromise. Recently my life has radically benefited from Obamacare. If Obamacare can make the books I believe gay people can also benefit from a compromise. Conservatives will never learn to vote from compassion and genuine acceptance of other people. They will not change (much). The stereotype adds hurdles that conservatives have to overcome before any progress can be made. I believe potentially Conservatives could accept civil rights and continue to reject gay people.

But Conservatives, for some reason, must feel like they won’t be able to reject gay people anymore after those laws are passed. You’d think that they have enough social power to shun anyone they want and that they wouldn’t need the government to protect traditional marriage, but… maybe they don’t have that control. At the very least they are obviously frightened.

Actually, I am almost positive that they should be afraid of civil rights. There must be more people in the closet than we could possibly imagine. These are people who aren’t gay enough to come out yet. These are bisexuals and sexual moderates who can get married like I did but might instead choose take advantage of social progress and be gay instead. They are many more of us who are blander and (relatively) more conservative than those who have been willing to come out by this point in time. When gay people have equal rights the Church will have less power over those of us whose sexuality is fluid enough to be influenced by external forces.

Just like any other political agenda, winning over moderates is the key to progress, and right now the “gay agenda” is alienating those people. Like I said, gay people tend not to take me seriously. It seems like they think bisexual women are just preforming for straight men. If this were true (and it isn’t) fake bisexual women are comfortable with pretend homosexuality which seems like victory of public opinion for gay people. Most young people have little to no sincerity in their sexual activity anyway so there is no reason gay people should take that personally.

By the way I have been treated I do not think anyone wants to make that compromise. I don’t think the gay community wants to accept the sexual moderates and others who are potentially not 100% committed to a path of hardship and oppression. I do not think they want to accept that ultra-conservatives will always hate them (which is more understandable) It’s not fair to expect gay people to be emotionally mature and accepting after they have been treated, but, it is also really unfortunate to grow up in a conservative household. Being a (younger) homophone isn’t exactly a choice when if are born into and constantly surrounded by that mentality.


Last updated January 16, 2021


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.