Just a ramble in Life

  • July 5, 2017, 10:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Summer is rolling along much too quickly. I’m at loose ends, because normally I’d be up in my room working, but they haven’t painted yet. The building will be closed next week while they work on the hall floors, and they are supposed to paint my room then, also. I’m crossing my fingers, because I have a lot to get done in there. So I’m lazing around here at home, doing a little work, and reading. My internet is still acting spastic, so that’s limiting some of what I can do for school. So I read. :) I have more I need to do outside, but it’s so hot and humid out there. (We’re ranging in the mid to high 90s with 90+% humidity.
I had shared about the grape vines I cut. Here’s a picture I had taken inside the “cave” that they made. My shoulder is still hurting from cutting and hauling them. I’m sort of sad to see the cave gone. It was rather pretty, but you couldn’t mow around or under it.

I stripped my bed and put on new sheets. Of course that meant the cats had to pile on and sleep on the stripped bed and then constantly attack the sheets as I made the bed. lol

We had a low-key family day for the 4th. I made my chicken wraps (chicken marinated in Italian dressing over night, cream cheese, and jalepenos wrapped in bacon). They were a huge hit and vanished much faster than expected. We also grilled hot dogs, brats, and sausage. I also made a desert that works good for my diabetic dad (sugar free angel food cake torn up and mixed with strawberries and sugar free cool whip - left in fridge overnight to soak up the good flavors). So we rolled out onto the porch for a recovery, then on to blood-thirsty rounds of Clue (which my mother won, I’m sure she cheated lol) Tootie’s best friend and her sweet little girl came over for lunch. Here’s a shot of Cbaby and her playing. She’s such a doll. She has my dad wrapped around her little finger. He stopped eating to read a farm book to her. Her mom tried to bring her onto the back porch later and she flat out refused, she had to pile up with Pawpaw (imagine the cutest country accent) and watch “Smoke!” (Gunsmoke)

We ended the day with the girls doing about 8 fountain fireworks while we fought and fed mosquitoes.
All in all it was a good, relaxing day. I hope all of you had similar days (those that celebrate the 4th).

I know some of y’all know the joy of humidity and air that’s so thick you can take a bite out of it, but for those who don’t, here’s a heat index. It shows the air temperature and then the real feel, how hot it feels. You can see that even if it were a lower 90s temp, like 92 and the humidity is 90, that makes it feel like 131. That’s hot, y’all! You walk out and it feels like you are being wrapped in a hot, wet flannel blanket. You sweat in areas that aren’t polite to talk about. lol So, you spend as much time as possible in the AC.


Deleted user July 06, 2017

I like it hot ! :-)

dream seeker Deleted user ⋅ July 06, 2017

A wet hot is so different from a dry one, though. You feel every lingering ache 10X more and you're just wet.

Deleted user dream seeker ⋅ July 06, 2017

I can only imagine. We have humidity but I know when I went to New Orleans in August that was a whole different kind of humidity .

terriberri July 06, 2017

amanda has a passion vine plant in her back yard....it blooms the prettiest flowers and they smell soooo good, and you get the most interesting fruit off the plant! but if not kept trimmed it reaches for and pulls down her tree like that too. it gives a neat tunnel like look and feel, but not good for the poor tree, lol.

Small Town Girl July 09, 2017

Sounds like a great 4th! Love me some "Smoke" too!! Haha!
Wow! I love it hot, but that is HOT!!! Glad ya'll didnt melt away!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.