Voter ID & the GOP's lack of conservative morality in Talk Radio

  • Nov. 1, 2012, midnight
  • |
  • Public

Link to article I am quoting.

The problem with the GOP is that none of their initiates have integrity whatsoever. For example, why in the 2000 and 2004 elections do we see no concern over voter fraud from the GOP? They never concerned about anything like government regulations or voter fraud when the situation appears to put them to an advantage.

When you do see election fraud, it invariably involves election officials taking steps to change election results or it involves absentee ballots which voter ID laws can't prevent.

When it comes to the evidence that actually exists, conservatives take the attitude of denial, "this evidence is actually motivated irrationality of sore losers!" But in 2012, Voter ID laws are not motivated irrationality of Republicans who are afraid. It is amazing to me how easily the GOP base forgets about history.

Furthermore, aside from history, Voter ID is yet another clear example of the GOP's complete sham of conservative political thought. It is amazing to me how the GOP base is attached to this idea of conservationism without having any real understanding of what that means. Voter ID laws should be the exact kind of regulations that conservatives should rail against, if they were not totally corrupt and hypocritical.

John Hughes, a lawyer for Texas, argued in his closing arguments that people who want to vote already have an ID or can easily get it. Hughes argued that traveling far distances was a “reality to life of choosing to live in that part of Texas.”

The GOP double-standard on government regulation: the cost of business is important when private industry is subjected to government regulation, but when individuals are subject to regulation, such regulations become acceptable, a "reality of life." Like Voter Fraud, the GOP is not concerned about regulations that serve to their advantage for them or their allies.

Let's point out the reality of doing business in America, because the GOP desperately needs to be schooled on the reality of corporate welfare. Congress voting to sign a big check to GM and other FAILURES of the private sector is not an acceptable cost of business.

But when it comes to regulating the lives of individuals, like asking me to take the bus to get an ID, they tell me to shut the fuck up and accept this cost of business. This is a major feat of denial in the post-Enron world. If they had a conscience, the GOP would likewise accept welfare for people as they do for corporations.

The GOP sings high praise to free trade, but when regulations are politically difficult, they betray free trade and prefer the mob mentality's demand for regulation. Someone who actually values free trade should be concerned about regulations that destroy legitimate capitalist trade of illicit substances and turn over money from American consumers of illicit substances to violent foreign drug cartels and terrorists. Apparently, we as Americans are more concerned about our fellow Americans who choose to consume drugs instead of choosing to consume something else that happens to be more acceptable.

2008 would have been the first election where I was eligible to vote, but I was a victim of voter suppression, I was busy with a move from Ohio to Indiana. Is it politically correct to say that there is a limit the hoops I can jump through just so I am allowed to vote? What would the GOP have to say about that? Should renewing my ID be a higher priority over my personal pursuits of happiness?

Keeping my ID current is an example of the kind of task that I find very difficult, not only because I don't drive. I am naturally anti-regulation because of my background in the school system, but to the GOP, I am just another asshole with the victim mentality. I think I am a victim of the school system, which demanded a lot, disrupted my family and gave us nothing in return.

If I could have actually voted in Ohio in 2008, I would have, believe it. I miss living in Ohio. I think it is exciting to have so much attention from politicians.


Last updated January 30, 2014


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.