Time Will Tell in General

  • July 2, 2017, 8:58 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Up the country and back again. The bean was in good spirits, although she insists on wearing a hoodie even when it is stifling hot.

The flanken ribs were a hit, though the Oi kimchi not so much. New Englanders have dainty palates. I over heated the kimche, even though it was about half the red pepper flakes I would use if I were making it for myself.

I came home with tons of leftovers, including two huge pieces of chocolate cake.

I am thinking about making a peanut butter pie and dropping it on my parents as revenge!

It was miserable hot as we ate on the deck. The only thing that saved me was the fan that was a foot behind me. Blowing directly on me in a sweeping motion.

Title song you might have heard parts of, in the Subaru commercial where a guy is prepping a car for his daughter to go off to college. Presumably.

I love finding artists like this. The internet has made the ‘what did I just hear” moments so much easier. All I’ve needed was a lyric or two to find Dar Williams and William Fitzsimmons. And now Gregory Allan Isakov. I will likely be downloading his catalogue soon.

Lately though.

I have been listening to books on the iPod. Seems to be a summer thing for me. I am into the second book by William R. Fortchen, the first being “One Second After.” If you can read/listen to that and not start looking into survivalist strategies, well you are much braver or much more stupid than I.

It is a realistic view at how fast the artificial construct of civilization can unravel.

There are a couple commercials on fast rotation that use ELO’s “Ticket to the Moon.” I sometimes wonder if the Madison Ave fucksticks even listen to the songs they use. Both the title song and the ELO song are incredibly depressing. The production value on the ELO song is quite a bit better than the Isakov song. But Isakov is a singer/songwriter of the Dylan genre. So he can be forgiven.

And his vocals are in my range, so it is fun to sing along.

Photobucket is now dead. Too bad. I’ll have to find a different picture hosting site.

Even worse was while standing line at my bank - which I go to twice a year - I saw a photo competition advertised. $500 if you won one of the twelves spots in next years calendar. Unfortunately I can’t find the picture on my hard drives. But I know damn well I uploaded it to Photobucket.

Well shit.

” turning in the grain again
the bells begin to chime
time, she says,
“there’s no turning back,
keep your eyes on the tracks”
through the fields, somewhere there’s blue
oh, time will tell, she’ll see us through
howling out,
the windy hills
and all the time we took
you should know just how it steals
keep your hand on the wheel
and through it all, somewhere we knew
time will tell, she’ll see us through
and all fire and flames took all we trust
we’re kicking up dust
stations fade just like they do
oh, time will tell, we always knew
oh, time will tell, we always knew”


Deleted user July 02, 2017

I read, " One Second After" and it's so possible that I started to feel very sick reading it. There is a sequel now I think .

Deleted user July 02, 2017

Actually two more books ; "One Year After and " The Final Day ". I have not read them .

Duke Deleted user ⋅ July 02, 2017

I am about a chapter into the second book, and I downloaded them in order. The problem with Audible is that don't stay consistent with the narrators, so "John" doesn't sound like John anymore.

Deleted user Duke ⋅ July 02, 2017

I like some audio books but usually I just want to read them myself .

Pintador July 03, 2017

What kind of photo did you plan on submitting?

Bean wore a hoodie in 98 degree heat?? Can't fathom it....

Duke Pintador ⋅ July 03, 2017

I have a stunning picture taken from Cook's Lobster House northward as the sun was fading. A few boats at dock. Quite lovely, and an easy winner. Taken with my digital DSL. But I can't find it!

~Katherine July 03, 2017

I'm so glad you posted this video. I like finding new artists, too, and he is delightful. Both melody and lyrics are haunting. Going to google him now.

Duke ~Katherine ⋅ July 09, 2017

Where you bean? I just posted another tune from him. Equally haunting.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.