A Summer Day in Just in Case

  • July 1, 2017, 4:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It just hit me that my summer break is officially pretty much halfway over. It’s hard to believe that. I’ve hit my summer stride. I can’t keep up with what day of the week it is and my sleeping patterns have made their summer shift. I’m staying up until 2 or 3 reading or watching movies, then sleep until 7 or 8.
I normally would be working on my room by now, but they are painting it. I’m so glad. The teacher who had the room before me painted it a “lovely” seafoam green. It feels old and dingy in there for some reason. (Or maybe it’s more moldy green ) I chose a teal/turquoise color for the walls and slate for the cabinet. There’s a 12 foot slate chalkboard on one wall that won’t be going away. It’s put up with liquid nail, so they would have to tear it apart and redo the wall. That’s not in the budget, so I’ll be keeping it. It’s not too bad. I hang signs and pictures on it, and with the new color and the cabinet, it should blend in. I painted 3 bookshelves the other day. I picked a lighter gray. The two big ones are old utility shelves that I bought about 18 years ago and never painted. They soaked up the paint! (Yes, I know I should have primed them, but the paint had primer in it. I thought it would be ok. It wasn’t. lol) After the first coat they looked like a lovely blue/periwinkle color. Plus there are so many grooves, nooks, crannies, edge, they were awful to paint. I did a 2nd coat and they look so much better. Then I sealed them and they look nice. But, for now, they are piled in the middle of my classroom with everything else. I’m hoping they paint next week, then I should be able to get started on my room. We have some major shifts in curriculum that are taking some work to get ready for. There are changes at school as well. The smoker (the one who would smoke in my room all the time) has left. It was because of a divorce, and I’m sad about that, but it was time for her to leave. She just didn’t fit in well in our school. The teacher who took her place has taught at our school before. She’s great, and I know she will make sure the students behave. We have a new asst. principal as well. She’s a former Jr. High social studies teacher, and I think she will make some good changes as well. There is a possibility that one of my coworkers will be leaving. “Amy”, the one who teaches ELA has applied for a position at the central office. I think she’s a natural for the position, and would be a good choice, but would be very sad to see her go. It would only be a 3 year position, but there’s no guarantee that our school would have an opening after the 3 years for her to return to. (The only teacher we feel fairly certain would be leaving is the 6th grade science teacher, and I don’t know how she would do with that.)
I did some yard work this morning and my should is letting me know it was not the best decision to make. The wild grape vines have taken over the Mimosa tree by the house. It’s pulling the limbs down and made a huge cave under there. I started cutting and had to take down a 15 or so foot section. This is with holding heavy clippers over my head and cutting Mimosa limbs and a thousand grape vines. Then I had to cut them apart to be able to throw them out in the woods. They are heavy. lol My bad should has been protesting ever since. I probably shouldn’t have tried it all in one time. There’s still more of it to cut, but I’m going to have to get my dad’s saw on a pole. (Not sure what the real name of that is, but it’s what I need. ) It’s gorgeous out there, but feels like it’s about 300% humidity. Everything is wet wtihin 30 seconds. lol


Small Town Girl July 01, 2017

Had to google mimosa tree! Pretty!! Sorry you are hurting now though.

Jigger July 01, 2017

I am not enjoying the humidity over here, and I do not appreciate MFK telling me every time I complain that I don't know what humidity is. Can't wait to drag him back to NM, and let him know where I'm coming from.

terriberri July 01, 2017

teal colored walls would totally float my boat!

oh...and saw on a pole...works for me as far as the name of it, lol.

Deleted user July 02, 2017

I have that tool! I should use more. I think it's some kind of pruner . It's so wierd; I have Baby mimosa tress cropping up in my pots of other plants but there are no big ones here. Our climate is to harsh for them. I keep a couple to grow in pots :-) They are pretty if they ever get big enough to bloom! Teal walls sound fine and chalkboard is all the rage in decorating right now ! Soak up every bit of summer left !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.