Escape to Magnolia Gardens in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • June 30, 2017, 3:48 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The kiss of the sun for pardon. The song of the birds for mirth. One is nearer God’s heart in a garden than anywhere else on Earth.

Dorothy Frances Gurney

I have four places that are my favorite refuges from the demands of caregiving for a parent with dementia and just from the stress of living in this increasingly disturbing and crazy world. I am planning to write about each of them in this and future entries and post some of my favorite photos taken on my many visits to them.

Now that I am retired and still have the same caregivers working the same hours, I am able to get away to these parks, nature preserves and gardens when I normally would be at work instead of hurrying to get to one of them during brief windows of opportunity during my weekends off. This is turning out to be the best thing about retirement: having the freedom to do things I really enjoy when I want to. It’s not that I am less plagued with anxiety and worry about Mom, but rather, I have more time now to get away and enjoy solitude, quiet and natural beauty. The heat of summer slows me down each year about now, but I take advantage of every opportunity I can. I am spending long hours reading and relaxing on the porch, but I need to get out of the house for a portion of each day.

One of those special places I often visit is Magnolia Gardens and it will be the first in my series of entries on those four refuges. Each year I buy a membership for $55 and get in to the gardens without having the pay the $20 fee. I can assure you I get my money’s worth. I go at least once but often 2-3 times a month. Each time I turn off the busy highway and enter that natural sanctuary and travel down the long road lined with majestic live oaks, tension and anxiety drain away for a time. It’s restorative to the soul.

Here are some of my recent photos of the gardens, one of the most popular destinations for tourists visiting Charleston. I know how to avoid the crowds and find the quiet, less visited places. But it’s a large area and never so busy that I don’t enjoy all of it.

The last picture in this post is of one of my favorite gardens in the historic district of Charleston. It’s the one with my favorite garden statue, “Cat taking a break from gardening,” which I have photographed often over the years.

DSC_2343

DSC_2354

DSC_1978

DSC_1771

DSC_1796

DSC_2489

DSC_2497

DSC_2284

DSC_1899

DSC_1761

DSC_1424


Last updated July 01, 2017


=bernard= June 30, 2017

Oh my, I would never have thought Charleston looked like this. The gardens are incredible. How lovely.

Deleted user June 30, 2017

I have to go to Charleston someday ! Gorgeous !

I've made it June 30, 2017

Such beauty!

patrisha June 30, 2017

What a lovely place!

Newzlady June 30, 2017

Yes, I'd say you get your money's worth, and we are privileged to share in that bounty!

Eriu June 30, 2017

Postcard perfect! I feel homesick and I don't even live there. Thank you for sharing these.

ConnieK June 30, 2017

Lovely place! Getting out in nature soothes me, too.

seafarer July 01, 2017

Love the pics, as always! I was there once many years ago! Glad you are getting out!

Cobalt July 01, 2017

Simply breathtaking.
The quality of your photography is equal to the magnificence of the gardens.
Thank you for sharing these marvelous glimpses.

Marg July 08, 2017

My favourite garden quotation as you know! That place just exudespeace and beauty😊

Deleted user July 30, 2017

A paradise ! So beautiful!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.