20/21 months in 2017

  • June 30, 2017, 1:18 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Normally, I write these at 1, 1.5, 2 etc. but it looks like Joaquin’s is still delayed and probably won’t show up for 4.5, and Aurion’s MONTHS late. But here hers is, anyhow.

**20/21 months old: A letter to my girl.

Oh Aurion. You are a force to be reckoned with. You are strong-willed, sweet, nurturing, rambunctious and mischievous. Your teachers and caregivers love you so much, and you bring so much delight to so many people.

I love watching you discover new ways to handle yourself and push your body to new limits. You watch your brother so carefully, and then try to do All The Things that he does, even though you’re so much smaller and less developed then he is. I’m constantly amazed at all of the things that you CAN do, by sheer will and determination.

You’re more adventurous when it comes to food as well, you’re usually willing to give things a try, but we’re never guessing whether or not you like something. You’re very clear about that. Your favorites are still strawberries and blueberries, and you’ve recently become just as obsessed as your brother was with fruit snacks (Annie’s bunnies). You’ve also become quite obsessed with “juice” because you always see your brother drinking it. I’ve become more skilled in only allowing you to have a little – I don’t want you to be TOO obsessed. You also like goldfish/cheddar bunnies, eggs (hard-boiled and omelet-style), sausage, rice, pasta, baked french fries. You know, all the things that are super good for you.

Your favorite things to do are
- Put babies / stuffed animals to “sleep” by putting a blanket over them and patting them while Shooshing
- Swing next to your brother
- Climb the play structure outside and dance in a circle
- Dance/ sing (Baby shark, No more monkeys jumping on the bed, Naked baby “cha-cha-cha!”)
- Play with the doggies
- Sunggle with Camus
- TALK ABOUT BEARS!
- TALK ABOUT MONKEYS!

You have “words!” NO, Mama and Papa, dog, BEAR, “ah-ah” (monkey), “Ove you” (Love you), juice, Gigi, “MINE,”blue, poo-poo, pee-pee, strawberries, head, toes, shoes, socks, shark… and more. Every day lately it seems like you’re adding new words and understanding new things. It’s so much fun to see you get excited about what you ‘know’ and how you can communicate.

But you are challenging. Our trip to Minnesota saw tantrums that were next-level and left me feeling overwhelmed and defeated. Your will is so strong that I think it sometimes gets the best of you, and all of us around you. I think your temperament and mine are the same, or they are in complete opposition; either way, they clash quite a bit. I’m making it my life goal to try and understand how to limit the clashes and maximize and harness our intense energy, because when we are awesome, we are AWESOME. But when we suck, it’s TERRRRRRIBLE.

You’ve started to take an interest in the potty and you’re very diligent about wiping yourself, which is adorable and terrifying all at the same time. I think once you start going to preschool, you will be pretty quick to pick it up. I’m not in a rush, but I think you will just let me know when you’re ready.

Ah, there’s so much great stuff I want to say about you, but I think I could go on forever. I’m excited to see how your personality continues to grow; you are the queen of sass and frass, but you can also be just so sweet and loving and nurturing. You’re bossy and demanding, but I never worry that you will be bullied or submissive. You will also be a force to be reckoned with, and that makes this mama so proud.

I love you Aurion Rose <3

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled


Last updated June 30, 2017


MaggieTheCat June 30, 2017

Ahhhhhhhh. Dorable.

TrippyNina June 30, 2017

LOVE!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.