Friendship in Talk Story

  • June 28, 2017, 8:24 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Aloha…

I had been invited out to have lunch with friends today… but had to decline due to the plumber coming to my house this morning (he didn’t arrive until 10 am and didn’t finish until after 1 pm)…

At noon… my phone rang… it was the owner of the restaurant calling… “Jim, whenever you are finished… come to the restaurant.. I have something for you”…

At 2 pm… with the work finished… I drove into town…

I parked my car… and as I walked into the restaurant… one of the girls that works there… said “I poured you an ice tea earlier… but you never joined your friends”…

I was invited into the kitchen… where I was presented with a very large to-go bag…

I thanked all concerned… got into my car… ran several errands… then returned home…

By then I was all but famished…

I opened the bag… was greeted with several styrofoam boxes…

And this is what was inside… and what I just finished for my dinner:

A complete roast turkey dinner… dark meat (my favorite)… mashed potatoes… stuffing… green beans… gravy… and two dinner rolls… and yes… even cranberry sauce…

What joy to have such nice friends that take such wonderful care of me…

Truly the spirit of aloha…


Last updated June 28, 2017


TruNorth June 29, 2017

Such a wonderful surprise. Your friends are awesome!

Maui Jim TruNorth ⋅ June 29, 2017

Yes... they really are...

^..^Kat June 29, 2017

That is so kind! We should all be so lucky to have friends like yours.

Maui Jim ^..^Kat ⋅ June 29, 2017

Yes... a true blessing for me...

crystal butterfly June 29, 2017

That sounds sooo good.

Maui Jim crystal butterfly ⋅ June 29, 2017

It really was...! (smiles)

dream seeker July 02, 2017

How sweet! You obviously live in a wonderful place with caring friends. It also shows what a true friend you are to inspire those feelings in your friends.

Maui Jim dream seeker ⋅ July 07, 2017

Thank you for these kind words to me...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.