Maui Jim's annual 4th of July party in Talk Story

  • June 27, 2017, 8:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Aloha…

Once again I am hosting a neighborhood/friends pot luck party… and once again it will be held on July 2nd…

Why July 2nd… well as most of you know… that is the anniversary of my daughter’s passing… and I figure if I have lots of friends around me… I won’t be thinking sad thoughts about her…

I have had over 50 people RSVP… and quite a few of them have offered to help me set stuff up… which really is not a big deal… tables and chairs… decorate the garage, etc…

Why the garage… okay… the party is outside… no way am I having 50 or more people in the house at the same time… and my garage is sort of neat if I do say so…

There are more than 100 collect-able antique tin signs on the walls… hanging fish all over the place… and other pieces of art memorabilia…

It is a true pot-luck… and most of these people are not only pretty good cooks… but take pride in what they bring to share… so no potato salads from Fred Meyer… (smiles)

The other thing that happened… Is the hot water tank in the garage started leaking on Friday… and a plumber is bringing out a new tank tomorrow morning… a bit expensive ($1K)… but I really don’t have much of a choice because I need hot water… and I don’t need water all over the garage floor for the party (smiles)

So… as you can read… I am keeping busy and active… and certainly have something to look forward to…

Me ke aloha…


ConnieK June 27, 2017

From my experience, sad thoughts come anyway. This is Nick's birthday month so I understand about tough dates. Sending you kind thoughts.

My youngest recently shared this long explanation of how matter never truly disappears, it simply dissipates into the atmosphere. In the end, he believes, we're all just out there, surfing the Milky Way. I hold a slightly different thought, but I liked his vision.

Maui Jim ConnieK ⋅ June 27, 2017

Aloha and Mahalo for your kind words...
I truly believe with all my heart... that I will see my daughter again... as will you see your son again...
Me ke aloha...

Roseoftexas June 27, 2017

Gosh, what on earth would you do if a bus load of PB ladies pulled up...lol

I always remember July 2nd...once again, I am sorry...♥

Maui Jim Roseoftexas ⋅ June 27, 2017

Set out more chairs I guess...! (smiles)
Mahalo nui loa for your kind words to me...
Aloha oe..............

crystal butterfly June 27, 2017

TruNorth June 28, 2017

50 is quite a crowd. Hosting this party is a good idea. A pleasant distraction. Its terrific that you have so many friends around you.

Maui Jim TruNorth ⋅ June 28, 2017

Mahalo nui loa...

^..^Kat June 28, 2017

Your party will be a lot of fun, enjoy. I'm glad you have this as a distraction.

Maui Jim ^..^Kat ⋅ June 28, 2017

Mahalo nui loa...

aunty EM June 28, 2017

Sending hugs and understanding thoughts as you pass another milestone... The party is a good idea.

Maui Jim aunty EM ⋅ June 28, 2017

Mahalo nui loa...

dream seeker July 02, 2017

I know everyone will have a wonderful time. Sending an extra prayer your way as you face the day.

Maui Jim dream seeker ⋅ July 07, 2017

Mahalo nui loa...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.