Unemployed in Random

  • June 28, 2017, 12:12 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was laid off today. My last day will be July 15th, then two months of severance, then…?

I was trying to keep it a secret, but I was already looking for a new job. Not because I had any idea this would be coming, but because I was unhappy with my opportunities.

I’ve been given the opportunity to transfer within my company, but I would rather just take the severance and get a new job. If I have to, I will go work for my former company. That job is better than no job. But not much. I have a few other leads in the works.

I don’t know how this happened. I am very good at what I do. I am smart and driven. But I am not social enough, and I’m sure that was a factor. I’m not as well liked as everyone else. Also I made the mistake of telling my boss I wanted to switch to a different career a couple months ago. I can’t say for sure if that was a factor, but I’m having a hard time believing it wasn’t.

In the end…probably better me than anyone else. I was already on my way out the door. Might as well take my severance in the meantime. It’s only two months of it, but it’s better than nothing. It helps, I guess.

The hardest part is having to act like it’s not affecting me in front of C. I have to put on a brave face in front of him and pretend like I’m not worried. We have one income in this family. Of course I’m worried. I don’t have a support network to fall back on.

But that’s my own fault. It’s all my own fault, most likely.


confetti June 28, 2017

I'm sure something better is in the works for you, although I am sorry you're going through this.

music & dogs & wine June 28, 2017

Randomly saw you on the front page...sorry! That really sucks. I hope you can find something even better!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.