More June goings on! in Majimaze Musing!

  • June 27, 2017, 11:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hi there Readers! Well, I thought, I can’t fix my email due to a hitch in my providers service so thought I’d write an entry instead. There has been a major victory for some of us Kiwis in that we have the oldest sporting trophy back in our clutches after winning the Americas Cup back from America! It is a yachting cup which is defended and challenged every 4 years. This year it was held in Bermuda, a long way from new Zealand. We have won it before, and when you think about the fact that we are a nation of only 4 and a half million people THAT is pretty good!
Most people in the world have absolutely no idea of what I am talking about, however, most Kiwis do. We are quite a sporting nation and have currently the World Cup in rugby football and now the worlds yachting trophy. I am an average Kiwi, love my rugby etc, however, my interest in the Americas Cup is because I have done a lot of sailing in my life and there fore know quite a bit about it!
Much has been said about it being a rich mans sport and it is to a degree, however, in our little country, we have to find sponsors who will back our attempts. Our Government this year only contributed $5 million, the rest of the total of nearly $200 million had to be raised from sponsors which was VERY hard work as we had lost the last two challenges and this one was with a totally different type of boat. In our favour was the determination of one man really who went cap in hand to big corporations like Emirates airlines and others, and also some wealthy individuals.
Here New Zealands huge knowledge and reputation of fantastic boatbuilding and sailing helped tremendously and we just squeaked into the last challenge with their help. And we were pitted against the millions of dollars of Oracle, a corporation owned and run by Larry Ellison. Also, we Kiwis have a great ability to pick ourselves up ,dust ourselves off and start all over again! We had a dreadful loss in San Fransisco in 2013 and so had an added imperative.
We built a whole new boat, radical in design and picked a young crew and just kept on keeping on. The new boat depends on being able to be raised on its foils by the energy of on board cyclists would you believe! Two of these had never been on a boat before! However, were Olympic medallists in cycling!
Hows that for lateral thinking?
Our new helmsman is only 26 and had never sailed an Americas Cup boat before, however, is also a Gold medal Olympic medalist several times in yachting. So there you are.Expertise,
youth, a will to win and a brilliant team.A total of 8 races in the finals and we took 7 out of the 8!
AND WE WON!!!!

Okay, enough of that. June is proving MUCH colder now up here in the North, however, with the bonus of beautiful days following. I don’t like winter and cold at all, however, thats old news. I love sunshine and that is here at the moment. after a freezing start. However I don’t have to go anywhere today so am not bothered!
Our politics are in electioneering mode at the moment, everyone telling on everyone else and the media just LOVING it and bombarding us every moment with whatever is being tattle tailed. Gets more like America every moment! I have a mind to use my default vote this year! And I ain’t saying who THAT is! The elections are in September.

My families are in good health apart from a heavy cold which comes from the fact that most of the grandchildren attend school and bring home the bugs! Touch wood, I am prevailing so far.
I am a Christian and always have been and always will be.I started in the Anglican Church or Church of England (Epsiscopalian to those in USA) however changed to Roman Catholic on marriage and am an active member ( I do the readings) in my church and I am very happy with that.
Okay, I think that is all and meantime ,
be happy as you can and be kind to each other.
God Bless and much love to you all,
Majimazexxxxx


TruNorth June 28, 2017

Congrats to NZ on their win. Quite a spunky little country!

crystal butterfly June 28, 2017

Congrats to NZ.

majimaze June 28, 2017

Hi there hun!Thought you'd know my default vote!!!Lol!!Love your pics too.Is that the famous Redcliffs on the right??And the birds just lovely!Lotsa love and hugsxxxxx

majimaze June 30, 2017

Hi there Four!Not sure where Polz got her information from,I haven't heard that!And there are a bunch of rumours around so I'll believe it if I see it with my own eyes!One piece of fake news was that our helmsman was an"aussie kiwi!' H was born and raised in Tauranga!Nah sorry ,no glory for Aussies!Lol!xx

majimaze June 30, 2017

Again Four!Glenn Davies ,the skipper is an Aussie and is revered as he has been in the ETNZ for two challenges now.We have adopted him!!The skipper is nonsailing however, decides strategy and tactics and operates the technology so not sharing him either!!Tee-hee!!xx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.