Cold Water! :o) in A New Beginning

  • June 27, 2017, 4:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I got into our pool (nothin’ fancy, just one of those blue ones) yesterday evening for the first time this season. I had been prepared to just about freeze my ass off, but ya know what? It didn’t take me t…t…t…tooooo long to get myself down into it, and not long for it to just feel really good. And that cold water took away all my soreness and the pain I’ve been having for the past week! IT WAS GREAT!!!!! I have even felt great all of today, too! I am going to get in the pool again this evening. Heck, might as well do it all summer. I wonder how long this will keep me feeling good?!

My sisters and I can’t go on an “all three of us” beach trip this week because we all have appointments of one kind or other on different days. But I am very happy to report that Carol, who was sick for close to two weeks, is feeling good again! Today I went over to visit her. We went walking at the county park and although of course she walks slower than I normally would, it was a STROLL. Yes, definitely a stroll or maybe a meander, but NOT a “poke-along.” Poke-alongs make me sore. Strolls and meanders don’t; they feel good! It helped that we have been enjoying a few days of downright nice temperatures and low humidity! Those days are rare in Delaware in the summertime! Carol has COPD, so hot humid days make her get out of breath very easily. And I’m not crazy about them either!!

Tomorrow Sandy and I are going out to lunch. Apparently she doesn’t want to go walking anywhere this week. That’s fine; I think I’ve worried far more about making both of my sisters happy than I needed to. I mean, sure, when Sandy first moved here from Ohio, she didn’t know where anything was, so she did need me to go with her to places, help her find out what the heck there IS around here, etc. But she knows her way around probably better than I do now! And she’s a very strong and independent person; she enjoys going and doing on her own....which is not to say she shuns my company! Just to say she doesn’t “need” a whole lot of it! And that’s good, Because I’m kinduv a conundrum. I want my loved ones to be happy. I don’t necessarily want to be NEEDED a lot, though. Like with our kids, I loved doing things with them, but I also loved my alone-time; my goal was to raise kids who could be imaginative and independent while still enjoying being social.

On Sunday evening I attended a class at Seelie Court, the land that our Wiccan tradition has as its spiritual center. For more than a year I was VERY inactive in our tradition, but I feel myself again! I feel like taking part more again. This class was sponsored by Troupe of the Starry Door coven. I really love their High Priest, Jim, and I know all their members. (Of course some would tell you that I know just about everyone, because when I am active, I get around!) Jim said that their next class is in two weeks, and it’s going to be a re-doing of a class they did some years ago about creation myths. Everyone is supposed to write their own creation myth, so I’ve been working on doing that. This is not easy for me! I am a good writer, but I don’t often write fiction, and myths don’t appeal to me. All that “hero” stuff only interests me as being stuff one uses in psychology to unravel people’s character traits. But!! I AM workin’ on it!

Welp, I guess that’s all my news for now! Th…th…that’s all, folks! ;o)


GypsyWynd June 27, 2017

Ahhhhhhhhhhh........a pool!! Take a dip for me!

woman in the moon June 27, 2017

It's been too cold here for being in the a pool... but I've always wanted one. Neverday,

Deleted user June 27, 2017

Have you ever heard of hydro therapy? It uses both hot and cold water for healing. Laying in your pool making you feel good.....it's a form of hydro therapy. :)

Here I am again! Deleted user ⋅ June 27, 2017

No, but thanks to you now I know something new. :o) Thanks!

thesunnyabyss June 27, 2017

it's interesting how sometimes heat and sometimes cold can make the pain go away,

I'm glad you are able to spend time with your sisters, even if it isn't at the same time always,

have a good day and enjoy that pool!!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.